Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Giant tree battle

by jackolondon - Jam Entry

Hi everyone, today, my dreams becomes true!
I made a MMORPG! (ok, quiet basic I think :D)

EDIT : actually, it's more a MMO clicker than a MMO RPG :D

Your goal is easy : chose your side, and help win the battle. Will you fight with the dirty evil trees? Or will you protect the forest with the cute little Angel trees?

Two forest are in a giant battle. Click on the button of your side to make your forest progress.
Be carefull, if you decide to change side, your level will be reset to 0! (by the way, your boost will become more hard to unlock!

The more you help your side, the more your level grow, the more your forest grow. You'll be able to cast a boost sometime.


Note : the server is of course not a huge engine of war, sometine disconnection might happend. Usually, you just need to reload the page.

Note Bis : the game screen is a little bit poor of graphism, sorry about that :s

This game is entirely online, the progress of the forest is almost in real time.

NOTE ter : while reading your observations, i did some minor improvement :
- you can see now how much click both sides have made.
- better graphics for the progress bar (i say "better" not "imrpessive and amazing" :p
-Due to those changes I reset the stats and the progress of both forest.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#598Innovation(Jam)3.02
#616Humor(Jam)2.49
#942Theme(Jam)2.96
#970Graphics(Jam)2.25
#983Mood(Jam)2.21
#1023Fun(Jam)2.34
#1029Overall(Jam)2.62

Comments

rzuf says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:18pm

Well, I guess it's settled :P
http://i.imgur.com/LWJ3O2G.png

jackolondon says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:40pm

Can't see your screenshot :/
Actually, the evil trees are winning, is there any brave angel tree knights somewhere? :D

rzuf says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:53pm

Weird. It shows the whole "battle" area painted in beautiful red. I guess everyone just plays as an evil sith shrub. :)

jackolondon says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:02pm

that's what supposed :D
Maybe the the all mighty God of tree need to adjust the battle a little bit;)
The battle is now more fair!

A333 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:46pm

Get your deserved 5 stars for dem graphics man =)
Took me a second to realize that the game's online. GJ.

peterthehe says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:46pm

Amazing concept :)

MrDave says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:47pm

While im not such a fan of those Clicker Hero style games, I think its actually pretty smart idea to pit two sides against each other.

After this whole thing is over I would be interested to know how many clicks the game gets in total.

Piscythe says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:48pm

For Team Evil!

...now where's my autoclicker?

Really, this would be improved if we could see some global statistics instead of just the battle-bar.

amras0000 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:59pm

The core principle of the game is very clever and enjoyable. If it wasn't a unity build and with some UI improvements (and some changes to the theme, I could see something like this being a minor internet sensation for a couple days on a subreddit somewhere :P

Most of my issues are with the UI, though. It straddles the line between ornamental and minimalist, and doesn't really commit to either. I think a cleaner design would do away with the buttons: Have two trees, one on either end (one good, one evil). Clicking on the tree or its corresponding bar would help that side. The level could be displayed somewhere on the corresponding tree's image.

Alternatively, you could keep the bottom bar as it is, and make the main play area a bit more interesting. Instead of the blue line, have a mess of green and red branches or leaves. Maybe play with negative space a bit.

Still a nice concept, though, and the execution's not bad.

SSJMetroid says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:35am

can't play in Chrome.. chrome master race deal with it :)

Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:40am

I couldn't play it too much. Still recovering from Clicker Heroes addiction.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:41am

Maybe it's my laptop's problem, but I would like to address the problem that the game took so long to load.

PrismaSlice says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:50am

Very clever idea!

dark_hunter says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:55am

While lacking in the graphic and sound department, I find it amazing to see an MMO. I was waiting with excitement to join and see what the status of the world and how can I help it.
GO GOOD TREES!

ElliotFiske says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:00am

Fun jam game! It took me a little bit to realize that it was a networked game, which is really cool.

My suggestion would be to make it a little more satisfying to press the button. Maybe have a little "+1" fly out of the button, and show your progress to each level.

Also I'm not entirely sure what Levels/Boosts do...

By the way, try unchecking "Development Build" in Unity's Build settings if you can, that will improve people's load times by a lot.

NuclearCellar says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:01am

MMO in LD, hats down...

ragnta says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:01am

Great! :)

Blake_Lead says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:08am

Nice concept. congrats !

Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:04am

MMORPG :D

Garris says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:05am

Taking a really simple mechanic like a clicker game and putting it online against other people also clicking just somehow makes the whole thing seem more epic. A very light game, but I had fun with it! Good job.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:14am

The mechanics is so simple but yet so addictive! I HAD TO click a 1000 times for the good trees! Love the concept here. Well done! Ho and bythe way, I love the forest theme :)

VideoDog says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:45am

You've made a Massively Multiplayer Online Clicker. I commend you.

jackolondon says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:55am

@VideoDog ahah, yes you're right, i should edit this :D

x92rwzb says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:04pm

I choose you, autoclicker!

NirabazGAMES says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:05pm

I wass like a hobbit in dark wood))

nunesbarbosa says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 3:00am

Humm.. what is the game about? How do you win/lose?

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]