Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Owan

by Herzucco - Jam Entry

Hello, you are Owan, a lost soul who revives his important life choices in stranges worlds.

To cross the different levels, you have to move paving stone by paving stone. On each of them, you got to choice between two actions before going to the next one and make your way to the exit.

Some choices can be made only one time, so be careful and choose wisely !

Inputs :
i triggers the left action
o triggers the right one

Better with sound. I guess.

--------------------

Paul Maurer
Ghjuvannu-Carlu Sozzi
Adrien Carta

--------------------

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness89%
#33Innovation(Jam)4.07
#41Mood(Jam)4.14
#85Theme(Jam)4.22
#95Overall(Jam)3.87
#117Fun(Jam)3.73
#124Audio(Jam)3.80
#231Graphics(Jam)3.96
#642Humor(Jam)2.42

Comments

Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:10am

There is something about this that is just oddly beautiful. I really don't know what it is, but well done. I was fully immersed.

Meta-link says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:39pm

Great game guys, you did a very good job !
The mechanics is well found and works well, the graphics are cool and the music is really peacefull :)

RevelBase says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:26pm

I like.

adsilcott says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:28pm

I really love the whole visual style, and the puzzle mechanic is really interesting. Great use of the theme!

TomenLuca says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:32pm

It has a bit of an eerie feel for me, and it delivers well on that.

psychopsam says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:32pm

Very fun game. Interesting background and good controls. Maybe you could add some funny parts in it. I would like to play this game on mobile devises and I would rate this game a 4/5

Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:37pm

This game felt like a trippy dream, I love it! My only complaint is that the puzzles were way too easy, but I guess that's better than frustratingly difficult. Great job!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:39pm

I was pretty confused as to the story, but the game had mood to spare.

Really great use of the two button mechanic and the puzzles were really well considered.

It crashed/froze a few times, but it was the web player, so I am assumint it was INTERNET PROBLEM XXX or whatever.

Good game!

kmakai says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:48pm

Awesome job, I really loved the visual aesthetic and animation! The sound was particularly well done, and definitely suits the atmosphere. Your use of the theme is quite nice as well, kind of a different take on the "sliding around"/block-pushing puzzle genre. Overall excellent!

simon.parzer says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:24pm

Very nice! Those backgrounds, the trippy atmosphere, everything. My only complaint is that I got stuck at some point and could not restart the level.
Screenshot: http://imgur.com/v0DM6hx

Taldius says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:30pm

Probably on of my favorite game of this jam.

The concept is great. The art looks awesome and I love how you manage to bring kind of an undergoing scenario during the game.

If I had to find something that bothered me, it's the fact that I have to wait a little when I jump on a platform to make my next move.

Anyway, excellent job! :D

PS: It could be a good Smartphone game.

crucknuk says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:32pm

I like this puzzle game, the art is great and the game is fun, good work!

Herzucco says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:45pm

Many thanks to all of you for your adorable comments and feedbacks !
We take into account all of these.
We will surely add the native exports of the game in the week for all of you who can't play it on the browser.

About your "being stuck" problem simon.parzer, we (unfortunately ?) made the choice to let the player find a way to kill himself to restart the level if he made the bad choices. Thank you for your screenshot anyway :)

monetai says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:05pm

BIBIM

Team Tree says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:10pm

Really good ambience! :)

Pantoufle says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:53pm

‚ÄčNice little puzzle game! I'd like to see where this is going, I can tell there's potential :-)
Congratulations!

Switchiers says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:25pm

very cool game!
But animation in background make me bogging :(

MorseAmalgam says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:58pm

Good game! Nothing happened after I passed the second boss, but the gameplay was fun. The shuddering backgrounds gave me a bit of a headache, though.

NirabazGAMES says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:15pm

colorful art. nice)

piper82 says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:18pm

one of the best entries i have played so far. exceptional work on every field. great job.

Diventurer says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:22pm

I love how the mechanics work. Very well done.

PowerSpark says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:26am

Amazing but I sadly couldn't finish due to the game disallowing movement if the blue block didn't switch levels occasionally, forcing a reset.

Blake_Lead says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 4:18pm

Great entry. I enjoyed playing though I felt somewhat uncomfortable after some time :D !

Dec 23, 2015 @ 7:11pm

Graphics and sound combine to form an actual artwork. Thank you for a great title!

bessdlan says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 7:25pm

very funny puzzle game ;) good job

Troma says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 9:17pm

great puzzle and graphics.

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 9:20pm

Awesome entry, loved the use of the theme and the mood was great. Really fun and beautifully realised game.

SayRafon says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 10:07pm

This game is very very good :D
I really enjoyed everything in it !

dweebster says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 11:25pm

This was the best game I've tried to so far, tried about 20.

The mood is excellent, graphics fits the game nicely and I love the brain part of the puzzles.

You should make a real game of this, seriously or someone else will :)

Finn Stokes says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 11:33pm

Nice game, with a cool use of the theme. My only complaint would be that there weren't enough levels that required actual puzzle solving rather than just following the path before you (this was really good for teaching the mechanics, but once that was done I would have liked more opportunities to solve some puzzles with them).

ciaodavinci says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 4:16pm

Fantastic entry! One of the best entries I have seen. The background art, characters and animations were really beautiful and enjoyable. The music and sound effects were also very fitting and set a nice reflective mood. I did not understand if there was any consequence in destroying the other characters in some levels. I liked the mechanic, but found it a bit too easy. Perhaps adding a bit of complexity to the levels would be cool. Great job overall!

Jan 4, 2016 @ 6:11pm

Great work! There was something weirdly charming about this game! It felt like I was in a dream for some weird reason! Great stuff :D

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]