Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Continuous rebind

by lkpridgeon - Compo Entry

The aim is rather simple. Get to the end of the level but wait there is a catch. You can only bind two keys at once.

Controls:

Grow Toggle: TAB (Works (ish))
Small Player: 1
Medium Player: 2
Large Player: 3
Left: Left arrow key
Right: Right arrow key

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2253Coolness17%

Comments

sanojian says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:16pm

Difficult to figure out how to get started. Good use of the themes. Quite a puzzle.

dos says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:51pm

Nice idea! A bit confusing interface, could use more work.

lkpridgeon says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:16pm

sanojian, Thank-you for playing and I hope you enjoyed.

lkpridgeon says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:37pm

dos, Thank-you for playing. I know it needs (alot) more work doing to it to make it a more playable endeavour... I just played it again and laughed at the jump canceling.

karlipoppins says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:22pm

This is a cool puzzle idea, great use of the theme! It was kind of hard to figure out how the key binding worked. Some soothing music would have been cool as well :) Great job

bitdecaygames says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:14am

took me some time to figure out that I had to select the 2 options I wanted, and I wasnt sure the purpose of the TAB button in game. But not a bad game for building those early programming skills. Keep it up. Hope to see you aim higher for LD35

Calciumtrice says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 4:25pm

A very clever take on the two button theme, I like it.

psychonull says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 3:14am

nice idea, hard interface it took me a while to discover how it works but it's a cool puzzle. good use of theme

lkpridgeon says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 8:35am

karlipoppins, Thank-you for playing and I am glad you enjoyed my rather small concept. I agree that the UI needs improving and yeah I would've liked to put music in it (maybe next time around).

lkpridgeon says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 7:51pm

bitdecaygames, Thank-you for playing and I hope you enjoyed. The TAB was to cycle through the 3 sizes however I didn't come up with a use for the large one in the concept level.

lkpridgeon says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 7:52pm

Calciumtrice, Thank-you for playing and the compliment. I really hope you enjoyed and look forward to the next compo.

lkpridgeon says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 7:55pm

psychonull, Thank-you for playing. The UI needs alot of improvement however it is better than my original idea of having to go into a rebind menu each time you wanted to swap keys. Hope you enjoyed.

Dec 27, 2015 @ 8:55pm

i really like the idea and concept.
intelligent use of the theme.
its a bit hard to figure out what the game wants from you.
i would like to play more, but the smaller-button didnt seam to work.
a small tutorial would help a lot. :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]