Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Forest Wars

by Rother Games - Compo Entry

The war has begun.
A war nature against humans.
Will the humans beat the nature one last time?
Or will you win this war?


--------------------------------------------------------------------------------


Play in thousands of random generated map exciting battles against the humans. How long can you survive and grow?
Or can you even beat them finally?


Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness68%
#242Mood3.34
#386Audio2.84
#412Fun3.24
#443Humor2.44
#512Innovation3.12
#544Overall3.16
#551Graphics2.97
#723Theme3.39

Comments

CodeNMore says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:22pm

It looked interesting, but a bit of a long bit of reading for the controls. Good job on it, though, I kind of liked it!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:28pm

Retro strategy, good job! I would try to shorten your explanation part.

rogberth says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:30pm

I played for a while but I certainly need more time with it, it seems to be an interesting strategy game. Great job!

knason says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:43pm

It was kind of fun when I realized what to do. It takes time though, it might have taken me to much time figuring out what to do and that made the enemy to strong :-) nice graphics, great job!

rkhadder says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:25pm

Fun game once I got the controls down - I think a better "tutorial" could have been implemented

Budi says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:24pm

Loved the concept and art. :-) Also the music is very satisfying!

Some tips to make it better:
The tutorial is really boring, I just wanna play! It would be much better to show the controls in the small tutorial, when you actually play the game, but I understand it's really hard to do in 48 hours. Also it would be good to write the controls on this page (yeah, I forgot even the "show me again the tutorial" key :D )

Those tall buildings kinda overlaps the smaller ones, so it's quite hard to see, what's happening underneath them.

Also the controls are quite uncommon for strategy games - I would like to have LMB as select and then RMB as move.

The screen moving is also quite unusual, it would be better to move the screen by moving the mouse to the edges or by holding the middle button. It's not so hard to implement and it would lead to a much smoother gameplay.

Also - I cannot download the source codes, please fix the link - thanks! :-)

Overall - great game, thanks!

AzureAspect says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:36pm

I almost fell to the "just one more game" trend. Very additing game.
If I have to give minor critique then sometimes the big buildings block sight of whats behind them. (thankfully the square outline helps spot where you can move)

Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:14pm

A little clunky, but it was pretty fun! Good concept.

Joror says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 2:29pm

A bit long on the explanation, and when I finally got it, I needed to click a bit too furiously. :P The buildings obfuscate the other things a bit.
Interesting base concept, but I would suggest perhaps making it turn-based to give a little more depth.

el_kloklo says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 4:55pm

How many level are there in this game? After a while I was thinking there were randomly generated.

jachepe says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 11:10am

Great strategy game! the tutorial is a bit confuse. Good work!

Techblogogy says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 2:19pm

Very nice and enjoyable game! Great Job!

pixzleone says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 3:58pm

Looks really cool, and seems to have a lot of depth to it!

TheWzzard says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 6:12pm

doesn't present much of a challenge but it's an interesting idea!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]