Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Revenge of the Ducks

by Ronin748 - Jam Entry

You're growing old, and as we all know, elderly people like to spend time wandering around in parks. However, this time dementia got the best of you and you forgot to feed the ducks. Now they're angry and out to get you!

Use the left and right arrow keys to "waddle" forwards, and hold both keys simultaneously to swing your walker at those dastardly drakes! As you do this, your stamina will decrease (left bar), you will slow down and your heart rate starts to rise. Don't let your heart rate get too high or you'll get a heart attack! Also don't step into puddles or you might catch a cold.

Controls:
Right and left arrow keys - move
Both - attack (hold to charge)

Programmed in Dart using WebGL.

Music by Kevin MacLeod

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#139Humor(Jam)3.56
#236Audio(Jam)3.51
#520Graphics(Jam)3.45
#532Innovation(Jam)3.12
#615Theme(Jam)3.58
#647Mood(Jam)3.05
#660Overall(Jam)3.17
#701Fun(Jam)2.92

Comments

Move127 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:49pm

Cute little game.

rogberth says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:54pm

I love the mood of the game. Sadly it started getting slower... is it a bug?

GagaPete says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:56pm

It's a cool game. The music is awesome. The battle system feels strange though. I've no idea how to fight the ducks.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:57pm

Loved the art style. Movement was a bit tricky, but all in all was pretty fun. Great work!

trueboolean says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:58pm

The music is extremely good!

someone says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:02pm

Haha, That was great. I beat them ducks.
You should give it an amusing intro. It makes more sense now I have read the description.

Ithildin says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:06pm

Concept is hilarious :D

The game is fitting and I liked the visuals, but it was a bit hard to understand the feedback if you were hitting or being hit.

gillenew says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:42pm

Nice, but I don't understood how to play xD

Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:42pm

Nice graphics, interesting and inventive use of two buttons, even if "hold both" seems like cheating a little! Loved the unusual selection of mechanics including the heart attack meter. I completed it on my third go, and only suffered 3 heart attacks in the process.

Luke says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:30pm

Ducks are dangerous...

I will never look at ducks the same way again

arzi says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:35pm

Good use of the theme! I like the controls :D The retro-3D art was also cool :)

maartene says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:17am

Clicking the web link opens a blank page (in Safari 9.02 / OSX El Capitan). Note: other WebGL games seem to be working fine.

OberynMartell says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:20am

Nice catch on the theme! I kept dying though... Could not tame those beasts! =/ Congrats. The game is fun and I enjoyed the music and graphics style.

freddyw9 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:20am

Art was cool, attacking was a little confusing.

Ronin748 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:32am

Yeah the game hasn't been tested in Safari, but I know for sure that IE doesn't load it. Wrote the WebGL stuff myself so I might be missing something... Appreciate any feedback!

Ronin748 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:58am

Think I fixed it. The WebGL context is probably called experimental-webgl in Safari and others.

jamaster96 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:45pm

Hard to play.

DustyStylus says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:29pm

Haha, I love everything about it. The humor and aesthetic are top. Nice work. :D

NoWandStudios says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:32pm

Nice stuff. It took me a while understanding how the die mechanics work.

justinooncx says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:50pm

Pretty damn fun game, though it took me a while to figure out what I was doing. Love the FPS pixelated style!

ohmaigawd says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:02pm

Loved the graphics! It took me a couple of restarts to realize I had to fight ducks though.

BuffaloPhil says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:27pm

Great graphics, cool feel

MikeTsunami says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:34pm

Dig the 3D graphics and ducks! XD

markusfisch says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:14pm

Very good music! Very funny game! Made me smile like an idiot :)

h.attila says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:56pm

Fun idea, nicely done. The controls are somewhat awkward and take some time to get used to. Loved the music.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:01am

That was cool. Love your music. Started having browser problems on replays, such as no more music and would not immediately start back up when i pressed arrow keys. Using firefox 42. Overall quite fun to play.

nunesbarbosa says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:00am

What have I just played? A FPS with 2 control buttons? And why would I break my hip?

Piotrek says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 6:57pm

I love retro 3d graphics like this.
Controls are little messy, but after all it's two button fps. Nice game!

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 10:13pm

Awesome music and cute graphics :)
Nice one

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 3:40am

very well done - art was great - liked the gameplay alot - very challenging - well done

XenosNS says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 8:09pm

WEll, that was odd haha

crucknuk says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 11:15am

Nice entry! I really like the graphics, it reminds me of minecraft! Gameplay is interesting, but it is sometimes complcating since you can get stuck in a corner. Appart from that, good job! ;)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]