Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Walter the Wise

by scottrick - Compo Entry

I chose the theme "2 Button Controls".

I recommend playing the game in Chrome. I didn't notice until after the deadline, but it doesn't play properly in Firefox. It works in Safari as well, but Safari has much worse javascript performance and it definitely affects the game.

Control Walter the Wise (Wizard for Hire) as he fights off enemies from the air and on the ground.

http://scottrick.github.io/ld34/

Update: I fixed the Firefox issue, along with two other bugs I found play-testing the hour after submission. I tagged the first release as 1.0 on my github project, so its easy to find what I originally submitted.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness60%
#117Fun3.71
#161Humor3.18
#222Audio3.21
#292Innovation3.45
#301Theme3.94
#313Overall3.45
#341Mood3.17
#394Graphics3.26

Comments

ProjectX593 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:34am

Pretty fun game! The control scheme is pretty interesting - very simple but very hard to master.

Move127 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:37am

That was a lot of fun. That is one powerful owl.

SvenFrankson says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:41am

Nice control :)

TomBoogaart says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:02am

goeie game

Todnut says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:05am

Nice! Innovative controls - took me a bit to get hang of the the, but it was fun. If you just shoot low lighting you can beat most of the levels without looking!

Baknik says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:05am

Pretty easy, but lots of cool particle effects and a nice music track make it fun.

DomNomNom says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:07am

I really like the innovative controls and how they match the quirky wizard going pew-pew-pew everywhere.

Lightning seems to be a bit Over Powered compared to fireballs.

Having enemies that require both types of magic to kill would be a cool extension to the game.

Overall, a appropriate set of unique game mechanics implemented nicely making it fun to play.

swellbastion says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:08am

nice game. the music is pretty good

karlipoppins says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:14am

One of my favorite entries so far. Simple and addictive. The 2 mechanics and power work wonders. Love the graphics, the FX and the sound. Great job!!

Fanttum says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:35am

Interesting idea. Kinda easy to just spam the ground units with fireballs. Maybe add something to fire less if you keep with it.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:35pm

Spammy fun. I found myself wishing the arms would lower quicker though

eerongal says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:36pm

Fun little game. Spamming spells everywhere is real fun! Nice work!

floppya says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:53pm

That was a lot of fun to play, great job! Good job working with the two buttons theme.

Diventurer says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:00am

This was pretty fun. The last level was frustrating the first two times, but then I [spoiler] realised it was really just mashing the two buttons until it was over. :D

Nice graphics and audio, with good fitting controls.

crucknuk says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:04pm

Nice entry. I wish air ennemies could drop bomb or something directly over the player because I ended up shooting electrical ray directly to the ground to damage only the ennemies that could hurt me. Still interesting mechanisms. Good job ;)

Geck0 says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 12:39am

Funny game :)

Grahhhhh says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 12:47am

Was a nice take on the theme, more innovative than the curve so far! I think I cheated, I beat every level without lightning just by pounding on the keyboard, ouch carpal tunnel! Solid work, very satisfying!

acotis says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 12:49am

Nice! I love the music for this game, it's quite epic. I like to imagine this is the final showdown between Walter and a long-standing and powerful enemy.

Are you aware the the "enemies killed" meter doesn't reset when you die? That seemed off.

scottrick says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 2:27pm

acotis: that was a bug that must have slipped through, nice catch. glad you enjoy the game!

TaoPhoenix says ...
Feb 10, 2016 @ 1:13pm

Yep, me too!
Sometimes it's nice to have a game that just is lots of fun even when it is super easy!

Contrary to some opinions, there are plenty of hard games on LD, I probably would have been frustrated if there was a "fatigue meter".

For once I just liked doing two air raid bolts then hailing down wings of fire!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]