Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Twobuttons Controls

by JordanFitz - Jam Entry

A game about growing your empire!

You are Twobuttons, a manic looking to control the world. Or at least Europe.

You'll first choose a country to start in. Each turn, you'll have the option to attack another country and/or support one of your own. You can also recruit new units who will add to your total strength, this will be necessary on the first round as you'll start with zero strength. Each unit costs gold to hire and will require food each turn. If you run out of food, your empire will die. You can interview up to five units per turn.

Your chances of winning a battle are based on your enemy's strength and a little bit of luck. Your enemy's strength is the number on the slider that's all the way to the right. Your enemies are highlighted in blue and will occasionally attack one of your countries if it's bordering them. Neutral countries bordering you will turn against you eventually.

To attack a country, click on one of your countries and drag to the country you want to attack. The same goes for supporting, except you right click and drag from one of your countries to another. The slider indicates how much strength you want to transfer or attack with.

Credits:
@jacksacktwitch - All graphics, game design
jordanfitz.com - All programming

Tools:
Dart with HTML5 Canvas API
Manga Studio 5

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#87Graphics(Jam)4.35
#292Overall(Jam)3.55
#357Fun(Jam)3.35
#403Theme(Jam)3.79
#416Humor(Jam)2.81
#476Innovation(Jam)3.20
#1727Coolness40%

Comments

Dooskington says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:09am

Interesting game, with super cool graphics. I liked the randomly generated dudes. However, the slider was stuck at zero when I tried to invade other countries, and for whatever reason, whenever I tried to invade Norway from Sweden (with like, 25 strength), it kept failing, and then blue took Sweden from me. Nice job!

adamk33n3r says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:36am

This was really cool. Great art. Ran smoothly. Wished there were sounds. All in all great Jam entry, guys!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:51am

Awesome game. Super nice art and an interesting take on the theme.

QuexD says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:55am

This is my favorite so far, Poland is hard.

propter_ludus says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:21am

Very very cool.
This is going to be one of the jam highlights for me.

alvarop says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:20am

This is a well-made game with good graphics. And although it is not my type of game, I can appreciate the effort put into it. I hope my feedback during the stream was useful to you guys.

Good job!

Ildfuglen says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:40pm

Cool game, nice take on Risk. I like the minimalistic art style but the game could really have benefited from a soundtrack!

I played this game longer than the average ludum dare entry, so you managed to entertain me in the time I spent playing this game.

Thanks for a good solid entry, and I hope to see your games in future ludum dares aswell :)

Chubb1337 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:19pm

Nice game, amazing graphics, but damn it is so though! I'd really like some sounds in there, it was so quiet. That would also set the mood a bit better.

TomenLuca says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:13pm

The graphical style is very nice. The game runs great and is easier to play than you think when you're thrown into a screen with a giant map. Would have loved if I could end my recruitment before I had gone through all the applicants however.

Kepab says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:35pm

A fantastic jam job for a two-man team!

rjhelms says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 11:59pm

Nice balanced strategy game, with a good visual style. Sweet.

Dec 30, 2015 @ 6:07pm

There was a weird ass glitch that allowed you to duplicate units. :s
I plowed through the game by duplicating myself up to 2000 power and then just transferring it around.
I'm not sure, but no ending seemed to have been added? After I conquered everything I just got a blackscreen.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]