Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

F-L-O-I-D

by dmecke - Compo Entry

You control the blue cell in the middle of the screen - and you need it to grow! Click next to it to emit mass and move into the opposite direction. By absorbing other cells you grow. Every level has it's own objective, just follow the instructions.

When you lost too much mass, you cannot move. Click [back to menu] to retry a level.

This is my first game jam and it was a lot of fun. Thank you very much in advance for testing out my game! Thank you also to the creators of the game Osmos HD which obviously heavily inspired this game.

Let's Plays:
https://goo.gl/DCxdOH
https://goo.gl/jKJCCm

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#173Theme4.08
#344Fun3.33
#345Audio2.94
#351Mood3.15
#352Overall3.39
#498Graphics3.06
#590Humor2.11
#710Innovation2.74

Comments

pjimmy says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 7:24pm

nice game, well done

gkxd says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:45pm

Interesting game. The difficulty is a bit high early on, and it seems like you have to move perfectly to clear a stage.

qbicfeet says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:55pm

Feels like a mix between Osmos and Asteroids, fun. But like gkxd said, there's a difficulty spike very early on that makes it very hard to progress.

ProjectX593 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:00pm

Pretty interesting game, though quite hard, especially with the purple cells.

MintArcade says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:01pm

Nicelly done.

jmintb says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:52pm

Once I get to lvl 5, I cant control the cell.

dmecke says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:56pm

Maybe you lost too much mass? When you are at the minimum, you cannot emit more mass so you have to hope to absorb some by chance or retry the level.

Nanocryk says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:20pm

Very nice and hard game ! Like it :)

ORECROS says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:28pm

You can just spam left click in the top right corner of the screen until you reach the speed of light and then you win

dmecke says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:35pm

@ORECROS Yeah, it's always nice to see how coders play games. :-) At least in level 10 this wont help you.

walaber says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:14pm

Nice job. I like you add new elements in each level.

Modoc73 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:32am

Good game. Smooth room wrapping and good game mechanics too. Good job.

vortex says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:01pm

I love the comments before the levels...
A slight issue is that the frame rate started dropping some times, but other than that, nice agar.io twist XD

Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:10pm

Nice Game

knason says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:52pm

This is a kind of game I can spend to much time with, good job!

recursor says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:22pm

Yes definitely an Osmosis-like game and pretty good one at that. I did feel like the amount of mass you lose for propelling yourself could be a bit less. There were several times where I would push myself in a direction and just have to float around for a while until I just happened to bump into a green. It did make the propulsion decisions quite a bit more meaningful though and it was relaxing. Nicely done.

Raphi says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:19pm

funny game, but I don't know how you can lose, it still fun anyway :)

Talslain says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:52pm

really fun game, couldnt complete level 10 though but still enjoyable

Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:11pm

Challenging, fun game! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/DppxuiW8XzY

WizzardMaker says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:13am

Nice game, the twist in level 5 is funny!

Sir Magic says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:44am

Great game with a nice concept! congratulations!

KayZ says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 9:17am

I like these kind of games (that's why I made a similar one). My tactic was to get to a minimal level and taking out the purple cells at that size. But that didn't work in level 10 :).

local minimum says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 5:46pm

Nice little game. It was a bit kind and/or evil at times right at the start because you could have an enemy or food come up you within the first second of play. So having a safe area around player spawn would probably be recommended. If one opted to warp around the playing field, it felt like one was out of sight rather long (especially if using the corner where the HUD was placed). Other than that, relaxing little arcade game.

stefenism says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 6:00pm

I had a bit of a problem controlling this game but i like where you were going with it. The music could loop a bit better. Good Job!

Dec 25, 2015 @ 7:10pm

It's too hard to catch everything and takes too long. If I had more mass, I'd have more options to change direction. Still I liked the game a lot, with a bit more balancing this is nice!

LukeZaz says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 2:22am

Fun game. Did not expect the controls swap half-way through!

Enjoyed the variation in levels, though I had difficulty on the final level as it seemed touching reds while carrying any mass at all was a death sentence for that attempt. Also noticed that some ejected mass seemed to disappear soon after using it, though I'm not sure if that was just me.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]