Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Water Drop's Journey

by tedling - Compo Entry

#IMPORTANT#
I've got some reports, that people got freezes during the game. The WebGL export of Unity still seems to have some bugs, but those freezes only appear once and will go away after 5-10 seconds. So please just wait until the game goes on. There should be no more freezes after an initial one.

#ORIGINAL#
You're the famous water drop, that all the plants have been waiting for! Go, load up your water charges and let the plants grow, what fun!

I took both themes (Growing AND Two Button Controls) and put them in this game. You can only move left and right using the Arrow-Keys on your keyboard. You will water plants to make them grow and you will also grow and shrink yourself using special objects in the levels.

Features I developed:
- Procedural generation of levels, but I use a hash function so that level 1 is always the same, level 2 is always the same and so on. That was necessary to have representative high-scores.
- I have created modules (little parts of a level) for each difficulty, that are then randomly created and ordered for each level, based on the hash that the level number created (see LevelGenerator in source code)
- Module Exporter editor script, that takes a fully built level and saves it in an .asset file that can then be loaded at runtime
- High-Score system including two php-scripts that are handling the server side
- UI, sound, physics gameplay and so on...

The procedural level system and the data the modules are made of took the most time. I also put a lot of effort in creating the graphics. The graphics part is still pretty new to me, I only know the veeery basics of blender and photoshop. I will have to get better using those tools.

Hope you like the game and appreciate the source. If you have any questions or feedback, I'd love to hear it from you in the comments!


## From project's txt File - resources I used ##
Entry to Ludum Dare compo 34 by Martin Beierling (http://martinbeierling.de/LD34)

Font: http://www.dafont.com/de/fernanta.font?l[]=10&l[]=1

Server side php scripts for highscore-handling is taken from: http://wiki.unity3d.com/index.php?title=Server_Side_Highscores
only modified it by one additional parameter, so that it takes table names, because I needed 4 tables, one for each game mode.

used free asset "LeanTween" for tweening (search it in Unity's Asset Store, it's free)

everything else is 100% made by myself.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#362Theme3.87
#372Audio2.87
#426Graphics3.20
#570Overall3.13
#571Innovation3.00
#644Fun2.93
#2043Coolness28%

Comments

Noah says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:09am

Cool idea, neat graphics and funny sounds!

chrizdekok says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:32pm

Great idea that you are the water. Cool graphics for the trees.
I like that you have a menu with different difficulties.
Didn't really understand why you got bigger and smaller in the beginning but on level 2 I got it.

Coomzy says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:19pm

I liked the ball movement, I feel like that should have been the focus, stopping for the water all the time, not so fun :/

AAGH Games says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:06am

I liked the concept and it controls fairly well. The simple slide noise as the water drop grows and shrinks fits well and I'm glad that you eschewed any squishy, splashy sounds as it rolled around.

My one complaint was that the picking up of the water sources felt a mite finicky and imprecise, perhaps due to collision detection.

tedling says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:10am

Thanks for the feedback so far, guys. Really appreciate it :-)

HUMANICS says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:40pm

Really nice game. Interesting concept!

MHaton says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:43pm

Really like the design, felt weirdly like super monkey ball for some reason! I did randomly manage to freeze the game occasionally, not sure why. Always seemed to happen in midair and required a refresh to move on :( Really nice little game regardless

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:57pm

Nice little puzzler. With the random levels with a fixed seed it reminds me a bit of Desert Golfing somehow. Good work.

PowerSpark says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:21am

Good idea, I like the high score feature!

REIN1 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:23am

Very fun !

MorganLeFay says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:27pm

I really like the idea and your execution. The puzzles had a nice difficulty and you made nice use of the theme.
I don't know why but none of my browsers like Unitys WebGL Player so I had to switch the PC to play. Hopefully that'll get better in the future.
I also like the highscore feature but I didn't make use of it since my scores weren't to good ;)

tedling says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 1:54pm

Thank you all for your kind feedback!
I know there are still some flaws, especially in the level design and some physics errors. The WebGL player also seems to occasionally freeze. I don't know why, but it continues after ~10secs of freeze, at least for me.

The WebGL export of Unity is still not perfect, but it surprised me besides its deficiencies. It won't take them much longer to have it at a really stable state.

Gotte vote more, lacking behind my "coolness". Luckily, the holiday season is up next ;-) Happy holidays everybody!

Gyfis says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:27pm

Pretty cool concept. I like the graphics and the way you merged both topics. I suggest adding some funny music to the background :)

Omiya Games says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 11:55pm

The super-slippery controls makes it hard to play. A lot of time could have been saved with tighter controls.

I wasn't a fan of running out of time due to the controls.

Jan 4, 2016 @ 1:03am

Nicely made, fun to play. I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/r75qiAihqqk

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]