Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Crusher Escape Race

by monsterkillu - Compo Entry

Escape from the Mighty Crusher that's chasing you down.

Two Button Controls. Left and Right. Pressing more than half second will rotate the car.

Done in less than 4 hrs. SO most ideas in my mind didn't made it into the game and the polishing is bit low.

Made with Unity, Blender, Inkscape.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2115Coolness24%

Comments

Tensoplast01 says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 6:52pm

Like the simple concept!
I'm sad because it's very short.. I think this, in endless runner, with a score, a highscore, etc.. could be sooo great!

victorfisac says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 9:11pm

You should write a endless logic to disable obstacles when they out of camera viewport range and spawn new then.

Besides, an exit button would be nice :)

hpearson2 says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 10:21pm

*No exit button had to alt-f4 out of the game
*Game over text was partially cropped out of frame

"Done in less than 4 hrs" holy cow man! good work!

jim3wg says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:05pm

Short but good !

Phobos001 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:34am

Simple but fun! The rotate function on the keys made it tricky to get around corners without pushing a block against another block and getting stuck, forced to watch your tiny jerky car get thrashed and mauled by the cold heartless steel of the rotating saws...

But yeah, great work for four hours man. :D

Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:41am

Really well made game. I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/7EMaRu1rC0U

Jacob123 says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 12:28am

This was pretty good for four hours. It had a nice minimalist design to it too! We both BS'd this LD on the last day too which is great! XD

Benjamin says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 10:28am

It was fun. Even within 4 hours, I think that a replay button and a congratulation message in the end should be a priority so people can judge your game as 'finished'

kirbytails7 says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 7:04am

Nice work for such a short period! I like the way the car controls.

local minimum says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 3:28pm

Very well implemented sloppy controls! I really mean that. It is very hard to make controls that are this annoying yet it feels like it is my fault I fail. Managed to get through the level. So the obvious things would be that there should be a win-condition. There should be more levels. Sounds. Bump effects and the work. I think it could be well adapted to mobile too. Hope you continue working on it. I could see myself addicted to it. Maybe add different vehicles. Have moving blocks and maybe actually don't have just blocks but a city grid with pedestrians and traffic and roadblocks and what not. Or some other setting, but a setting. Still very great as it is.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]