Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Flappy blue rabbit

by Belvar - Compo Entry

I didn't spent much time on this one. 10 hours or something like that.
I went for the "two buttons" theme.

You can flap (flappy bird style) with left or right. You can kill enemies by swinging your sword. Enemies pop on platforms. You must make the best score until you die.

Made with haxeflixel on atom on GNU/Linux. Used gimp for the graphics and tiled for the tile map.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#534Theme3.67
#571Innovation3.00
#703Fun2.83
#795Graphics2.44
#796Mood2.38
#830Overall2.78
#2073Coolness26%

Comments

Luke says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:40pm

Intersting mechanic, flying bunnies stabbing things = 10/10

qkerguelen says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:41pm

Really sad that there is no sounds or music but the game was really cool to play :)

brainstorm says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:46pm

Innovation 3/5: Platformer and Flappy Birds fusion. At least is not a Flappy Birds exact clone.

Fun 1/5: Boring because of lack of difficult.

Theme 2/5: Used in an unoriginal way.

Graphics 4/5: Not bad artistic style.

Audio n/a: Don't audio, maybe because lack of time.

Humor 4/5: Funny enemies.

Mood 3/5: A music would be great but the graphics gave to it an interesting abstract atmosphere (not sure if intended).

Overall 3/5: Lack of time damaged a lot this game. But it's abstract atmosphere is quite good. Try to spend more time in your next entry! :)

ORECROS says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:46pm

the non-standard attacks are kind of interesting. the way you have to time the jumps to hit correctly

Multiplexor says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:48pm

Neat Concept for a 2 button game! And the controls are tight. I wish that there were some more enemy types! Nice entry overall! Keep up the good work!

fluidvolt says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:13am

This was surprisingly fun for a while. I enjoyed repeatedly tapping left and right to soar upward, then just let gravity do the work and dive-stab right into to something. The rough, solid-color art style and silence leaves a strange taste. Interesting.

esayitch says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:35am

I really dig the theme usage and the originality of the mechanics... makes me sad that the art is very simple and there are no sounds :(

With some work this could be a very awesome arcade highscore game. Well done, good luck :)

MrMordem says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:53pm

Nice concept and realization, that's the kind of game I can spend a lot of time on before realizing it^^
Good job :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]