Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Button Bugs

by XenosNS - Jam Entry

Your place is riddled with button bugs!
Squish those bugs by clicking on the two buttons in the colour order of bug segments, from head to tail.

Watch out though, if the bugs hit your buttons, they'll cause them to grow. If the buttons touch they'll explode and the game is over.

Use "Z" and "X" to rotate the buttons out of the way of the bug heads.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness77%
#254Innovation(Jam)3.50
#310Theme(Jam)3.90
#441Humor(Jam)2.77
#743Fun(Jam)2.88
#788Overall(Jam)3.00
#833Mood(Jam)2.72
#908Graphics(Jam)2.50

Comments

RadMcCool says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:26pm

Very addictive and fun though sometimes the combo i entered referred to a worm that was off camera which was a bit annoying but was an obvious problem so didn't confuse for too long

Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:32am

Took a few to figure out I had to click the circles but wasn't too bad, only thing I'd ask for is a way to reset the pattern, nice job!

pontooncity says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:10am

Great use of the theme and very original. Nicely done

Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:19pm

This is a really fun idea. Its hard when i get focused on one guy but I don't notice that other guys are a subset of that guy. I still win but not the way I thought I would :) This is really clever use of of the theme with nice cheery music. Good show!

elliottd says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:06pm

it's like typing of the dead, i love it. I wish there was a way to cancel the input (when the bug you are trying to get bumps into you). also I was a little confused about the order of the inputs in the top compared to the bugs and whether you counted right-facing bugs from their butt. good job!

_HopFrog says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:34am

Cool game! Very much like those fast typing games

rogueNoodle says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:46pm

I was a fan of this game since back when it was called Button Worms. Clever use of the theme and with some control tweaks, would make a really great mobile game.

smbe19 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:13pm

Great game. Sometimes it was a bit annoying that while entering a sequence you hit another sequence and your current sequence was lost.

SHLFStudios says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:50pm

The background was hypnotizing! Sometimes I didn't even notice a bug was getting close cuz I was caught up int the BG. I'm mildly worried about what this game slipped into my subconscious! haha. Fun take on the growing ball style.

MemoryLeek says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:58pm

Hard to play as the colors are a bit confusing

nihilaleph says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 3:05am

Pro:
+ Creative mechanics
+ Fun to play
Con:
- Took me a while to understand that I should click the buttons with the mouse... But maybe I'm just dumb
- A bit annoying when I was in a middle of sequence and killed another bug... But I can't think of a way to avoid this

Great job!

Blobo says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 5:04pm

Pretty neat game. i love the mechanic.

local minimum says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 5:26pm

I liked the game. It was quite challenging. One of my main objections though is that it was hard to see the score I got since the game reset so fast. A little delay would have been sweet. Or a screen, with high-scores and such. As for the pattern matching, it was quite hard when you accidentally erased some other worm than the one you were focusing on. Typically trying to get rid of the closest one of a certain pattern and triggering a kill of some worm hardly in sight. So maybe the game should have a proximity zone and not kill the first matching worm if there's a longer pattern still matching for the proximity zone. Just a though. The rotational controls, since the buttons were so close, made it hard to use the rotation to avoid the worms. That way I just let them stand still and focused on clicking. One way to make the rotation more worth while might be if the buttons were further apart. Or if one could adjust the distance (maybe actually have them always rotating and the keys only adjusting distance between the buttons). Have a look at the ld30 entry for an example of the rotational control http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-30/?action=preview&uid=21449

Very nice game entry though.

muriel says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 5:29am

It's very intuitive, good job :)

Dec 21, 2015 @ 3:19pm

Pretty neat idea! Totally fits the theme, and the making is well crafted. The only disturbing thing is when you do a bad combination that stays there or disappear in the middle of doing it because there was an unseen worm that had this exact combination. Then the combination you were aiming at is screwed in the middle. But I guess it just takes time to get used to it. Apart from that, very good game!

XenosNS says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 4:04pm

Thank you everyone for your great feed back!

bessdlan says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 7:34pm

good concept ^^

ohmmus says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 5:28pm

Nice simple game that has a very addicting appeal to it! Nice job!!

Yvanor says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 4:28pm

Fun and addictive game. (I like the funny music) Good job ^^

Xanjos says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 7:10pm

Pretty fun and addictive combination of an avoider and memory game.

NirabazGAMES says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 5:44pm

Cool mechanics.
good job.

JamesMowery says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 2:04am

Pretty interesting concept. It took me a few moments to understand what was going on, but once I finally understood, it was pretty interesting. One improvement could be to make the color and number of dots stand out a bit more and to be more obvious. Also having the combination that you are entering be more in your face would've been handy. Other than that, great work.

Jan 4, 2016 @ 4:15pm

Cute game! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/eBJmDbHq4GI

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]