Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Aina

by yahooda - Jam Entry

Plant carrots on a floating island and feed them to the Water Deity while being attacked by exploding robots.

Theme: Growing

Default controls:

WASD: movement
Space: jump
E: interact with or pick up objects
Q: drop held item
Left mouse button: use held item
Scroll wheel: select items on hotbar

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#480Graphics(Jam)3.53
#626Theme(Jam)3.56
#662Mood(Jam)3.04
#719Innovation(Jam)2.83
#748Overall(Jam)3.06
#950Fun(Jam)2.55

Comments

Fanatrick says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:32am

Good little farming sim. Cool cel shading as well.

Rufson says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:04am

Nice models!

jerry111zhang says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:35am

Fun little farming game!

blurryroots says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:49am

Felt very polished. Cool farming mechanics. Liked the hole floating island water god thing ;) But I think the controls to manage the inventory a bit to fiddly.

Krafty says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:00am

Interesting game and nice graphics! Game kinda just ended for me though, I wasn't sure why.

Justin Mullin says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:35am

I like the idea. I didn't quite understand how to deal with the robots - most of the time they just exploded harmlessly I think? I also abruptly lost without quite understanding why, but I must have been killed. Being able to use number keys to jump to an item would help simplify the controls a lot - I found myself scrambling with the scroll wheel very often. It's definitely a very nice looking game!

zzapp says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:58am

Cool game, the growing was good but the robots were hard to kill with a axe without getting them to damage you. I also had robots crash in the edge of the island and damage me even though I was nowhere near them. Aside from the lack of my prowess axe fighting robots, it was great fun.

yahooda says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:54am

@Krafty: It was probably an enemy that got behind you. To be honest, the death mechanics were added last minute, so it just instantly drops you back off onto the main menu. It can be confusing for the player since there's unfortunately no feedback about how they died.

logon13 says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:03am

Cool game. Very impressive technically within the time limit

Boberro says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:59pm

Battle Farming - that's new.

randomhuman says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 1:29pm

Cool idea, but I had some problems playing the mac and web builds. The scroll wheel didn't work in the web build and in the mac build the cursor was still active and kept giving control to the OS.

Geck0 says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 12:21am

Carrots! ^^

Simonaiso says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 11:44am

Nice carrot harvest game. I did not really know what to focus on, killing the enemies or my carrots...

juaxix says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 3:16pm

Love the models and working in the farm with cameras hehe

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]