Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Master Baiting

by tazdij - Compo Entry

Master Baiting, is a simple calm fishing game. Cast your bait (hook) and wait for a fish to bite. Follow the on-screen mouse button pattern to reel in your fish. The game is won, after you have reeled in all of the fish.

INSTRUCTIONS:
[Left Click] in the water to cast your line and the pointer.
[Right Click] after your line is cast, you can right click to reel in your hook.
After your hook is in the water just sit back and relax, until a fish chomps down on your sharp little hook.

After you have hooked a fish, follow the pattern of left and right clicking displayed on the screen to reel in the fish.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness73%
#106Audio3.62
#146Humor3.25
#284Mood3.27
#544Overall3.16
#642Theme3.54

Comments

mf1214 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:35am

Haha the fish from mario. Nice game. Very calm.

swellbastion says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:38am

very calming. nice

krashja says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:50am

Nice audio, funny :P

peterthehe says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:16am

Brilliant name. Nice, simple gameplay.

Somnium says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:23pm

Relaxing game. The music was nice as well.

WolvesOfOdin says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:10pm

Never has Master Baiting been so difficult!

MattThePie says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:15pm

The audio is what makes this. Well designed and gives a nice calm mood.

goffmog says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:36pm

I am finding myself partial to a bit of master baiting.

sugarbyte says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:17am

I'm sorry, I can't rate Windows games!

rosden shadow says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:17am

a nice little game

Ben Allen says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:19am

Sound is very nice. Game is pretty fun too! Got an error though:

___________________________________________
############################################################################################
FATAL ERROR in
action number 1
of Step Event0
for object obj_fish:

Pop :: Execution Error - Variable references invalid object (-4).has_fish
at gml_Object_obj_fish_Step_0
############################################################################################

Ben Allen says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:20am

Sound is very nice. Game is pretty fun too! Name is brilliant, you should consider going for humor just for the title. Got an error though:

___________________________________________
############################################################################################
FATAL ERROR in
action number 1
of Step Event0
for object obj_fish:

Pop :: Execution Error - Variable references invalid object (-4).has_fish
at gml_Object_obj_fish_Step_0
############################################################################################

tazdij says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:26am

Sorry about the error. It happens if you try to Reel in your hook before the fish bites. If you just leave the hook sitting in the water until a fish bites. An icon of left or right mouse button will appear, try to repeat the pattern tr reel in the fish.

Phil Strahl says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:29am

Very soothing soundtrack and interesting gameplay choice. To me the throwing animation took a tad too long and I didn't catch much fish because I never knew what I did wrong...

fluidvolt says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:51am

Prejudging by the name, this was surprisingly soothing. Casting lines out to the relaxing piano score is wonderfully pleasant. And, best of all, I can finally have my revenge against those damn Cheep-cheeps. Aaaah. Feel the relaxation wash over you.

scorched says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:05pm

Like the sounds!
Funny thing, that I can hook the sky :D

Clavus says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:38pm

That was quite relaxing. Except I hoped I could button-mash my wait to victory like usual in these games, but oh well :P

Humor +1 for title.

danidre14 says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:09pm

Nice, liked the audio. The name though..xD Am I a master now? Nope! I still can't fish. xD

Sim00n says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 4:54am

Beer, playing games, Ludum Dare, Master Baiting, all done at once. Nice! :D

MercuryXGames says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 11:17am

I feel so relaxed after playing this. PS: I am in Nirvana right now.

KanedaXIII says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 3:24pm

The audio fits perfectly. The game isn't that bad, but it gives me the sensation that it lacks something important that would make it awesome. I think it's a bit of challenge, overall.

Jan 4, 2016 @ 6:43am

I like the fact that it uses cheep-cheeps. It's sorta simple but pretty charming.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]