Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

QUACK! QUACK! Save the duck!

by zebi24 - Compo Entry

Help the duck get back to it's nest!

How to play:
Use arrow keys to jump in the right direction -> left or right arrow keys are used for jumping to a platform that is at the same height, up arrow key is used for jumping on a higher platform and down arrow key is used for jumping on a lower platform. Move quickly or the platform will collapse!

Each jump on a controller buttons at the edge of a level will grow the platforms. Repeat the process until you are high enough for the duck to jump back into the nest.

Happy playing! :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#113Graphics3.97
#240Humor2.90
#311Fun3.38
#314Innovation3.42
#345Audio2.94
#430Overall3.30
#524Mood2.90
#759Theme3.33

Comments

veverichka says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:43am

Adorable graphics and sounds.

Would like to know when I can jump in the nest though, so far I'm just dying trying, but having fun doing it :D

Elenesski says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:29pm

I'm with veverichka, I couldn't figure out how to not die. Made it frustrating.

zebi24 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:22pm

Hey, I have added "how to play" to the game description, I hope that will make it all clear. :)

veverichka says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:49pm

I finished the game! It was kind of stupid of me not to notice the platform growing, sorry :D

One of the best games I played so far, good job!

Anshul Goyal says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:29pm

I like this game. The jump/move mechanic is kinda unique to me. After I get a hold of it, I breezed through the level. Gorgeous art!

rkhadder says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:13pm

Fun game, beautiful graphics - Maybe better explain the controls and have some kind of point count tick up

sputnik says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:13pm

Nice voxel. well done!

Coomzy says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:14pm

I like it but the controls are a bit disorientating, maybe that's just my simple brain though. Also a score system would have been nice :)

newbeings says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:34pm

I beat it! Cool idea - never seen it done before. Something about the controls are incredibly frustrating... but that's also what makes it hard. Good work! Cool graphics.

tayl1r says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:34pm

Nice game! Took a few tries to grasp the controls but it's really satisfying to clear the pond once you get in the zone.

EstrelSteel says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:37pm

Really fun. Was getting some really bad frame rates though

zebi24 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:51pm

Hey, thanks everyone for playing. :)
@EstrelSteel I will put up a lower quality version and also downloadable one, so that no one will be having a frame rate problem.

Robin says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:02pm

A pretty short game, but I had a pretty fun time saving the duck :D (I eventually managed it)

PowerSpark says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:40am

Nice little game! I find the gameplay fun :D

kernel panic says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:36am

This was harder than I expected. You need to do differentiation on the fly! I like it!

Frenchie says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:35am

Nice game! It took me a while to figure out how to jump correctly. I actually started playing by just rotating through the keys very quickly haha.

Once I saw the instructions under the screen I understood how to play it though. You should maybe update your in-game instructions to match them. I didn't understand the up/down in the game instructions since it didn't talk about platform height. It seems stupid that I missed that looking back :P

danbolt says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:57pm

Oh man, I really didn't want that bird to die. Adorable none the less. Good work!

puppetmaster says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:33pm

Very cool game. When you figured out the mechanics it's fun to play. Well done!! Thank you about the window size information. You can play our game now in a smaller window.

OddballDave says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:46pm

Very unusual. Took me a few goes to fully understand it, but I got there in the end. Good stuff.

LittleThor says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:46pm

Interesting how a such simple gameplay lead to a very complicated mental gymnastics.
It took me a very long time to understand what exactly I have to do. But it's well made and fun to play.

tobia88 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:37am

Great game! Cool!

Tapehead says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:58am

Nice entry. Cool Voxel art. Interesting take on the "press the right button as fast as u can" mechanics.

kaa says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:44am

Good game with nice graphics and sound. Gameplay is simple but dynamic. Very well done!

brainstorm says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 7:59pm

Graphics remembered me to crossy road, LOL. Gameplay is good, but the browser srolls up and down when pressing those two arrow keys. That happens in most web game though (in mines too). Just try to host your game in a site that doesn't need a scroll bar apart that in Gamejolt.

4/5

zebi24 says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 11:18am

@brainstorm thanks for the advice, the scrolling doesn't happen for me, but I guess for smaller screen sizes it does happen. Will keep that in mind for the next time. Thank for checking the game out! :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]