Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

WALKER

by piper82 - Jam Entry

ALTERNATIVE WEB LINK: https://goo.gl/VOpx3M

Genre: 2D platform puzzle adventure

Description: Help Walker grow weed on his land and pay his debt to local mob.

Controls:
Arrow Keys - Left and Right
A and S keys - Interaction

Tools used:
Development - Construct 2
Music - Bosca Ceoil
Graphics - ASEPRITE, IrfanView

Notes:
This is my first published project after a dozen of LD attempts.
Unfortunately i did not have as much time as i hoped to. I managed to finish only small part of the game. Gameplay is very linear as i did not had time to implement proper inventory system.
I will include link to post jam version in next few weeks.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#439Audio(Jam)3.16
#560Humor(Jam)2.58
#791Graphics(Jam)2.87
#890Mood(Jam)2.58
#974Innovation(Jam)2.30
#1009Fun(Jam)2.37
#1024Overall(Jam)2.63
#1083Theme(Jam)2.21

Comments

Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:36am

401 error?

jofra says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:42am

Would've been ever more fun if the guy moved a little faster. Couldn't move passed the bed though.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:42am

The link is asking to login on Google.

piper82 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:49am

Here is the alternative link for the game: https://goo.gl/VOpx3M

Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:52am

I commend you for making a game where the audio, graphics, and story mesh together nicely. nothing seemed to be off, and that's great. only complaint is the slow walking speed. looking forward to seeing you in the next LD!

justinooncx says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:59am

God, Walker definitely lives up to his name. Has some potential, but otherwise quite linear.

xodene says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:12am

Solid entry. The graphics are minimal but doesn't appear seem to be out of any skill. I concur with the previous comments about the walking speed, it's painfully slow and disappointing when some interactions (like the dog) aren't very satisfying therefore they don't really award you for the slow movement speed.

TnT says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:25am

Absolutely love the audio

vegapomme27 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:31am

Hey man ! Nice reference to Walter White. Music is cool. Too bad the character is that slow, especially since you have to do round trips. Good job anyway. I liked the mood.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:06am

This game is really cool! It has a more complicated story than I would have expected, even for a jam entry. The music is simply awesome and contributes really well to the overall atmosphere of the game.

My only complaint is the slow walking speed, as others have mentioned. It makes some parts of the game rather tedious.

Firellon says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:33am

It's slow... And theme is not extended well, I think. It's more like 4-button controls, not 2-button controls.

Ghen says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:49am

the same as others, my only complaint is also the speed, it feels really tedious, the game quite fun tho

Weeping Rupee says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:53am

I was confused by the theme, at first I thought it was two button controls because you just move left and right, even though you interact with A. Then I noticed in the description that you're supposed to be growing weed.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:36am

Great audio, slow gameplay, but overall a fun game

Neoludo says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:44am

This was a nice throwback to the point and click adventures of yesteryear, which were always a favourite genre of mine. The art style is VERY reminiscent of that type of game, and the music is perfect. The biggest complaint is (and I'm sure you're sick of hearing this) the slow walking speed, which sadly made parts of this game a little bit laborious (i.e. walking back and forth between the same screens.)

Likewise, I have to agree that it didn't really fit either of the two themes from what I saw, but was still a really solid attempt. I look forward to seeing a post-jam version!

piper82 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:57am

thanks everyone for the criticsm and praise. both are very welcome. i made a huge mistake with character speed. even i had a hotkey for making it run super fast while playtesting. dont know what was i thinking... not sure if im allowed to change it now. as for theme, weeping rupee is right. there are clues in dialogue and in umbrella office that walker is supposed to grow weed. i just did not have enough time to get to that point. to be honest, i took a large bite. even if i was sitting for 72 hours straight i would hardly finish what i planned. as for the good points, im glad you liked it! its gonna motivate me to finish this even more :)

jamaster96 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:16pm

Kinda boring.

psychonull says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:37am

lol now I get the title!, Emily is pretty luxuriant xD
Nice art and story, you should finish the story I was hooked up it :S
I couldn't hear any audio (Google Chrome 46)
Great work!

Frenchie says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:25am

"This is my first published project after a dozen of LD attempts."

Congrats on publishing your first project! I'm jealous of that wicked bassline you came up with. My foot was tapping along to the music and I swear Walker was moving in sync with it at one point!

Bumblepie says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:11am

Well, I got to the end, this could be a nice interactive story game with a bit more work. I can see where it gets its name, the guy walks so damn slow! might want to turn that up a bit, it's very frutrating. I like the pixel art for the game, well done.

jdoughty says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:13am

interesting start to an adventure game. the guy walking quicker would go a long way to keeping the game from feeling tedious. Loved the soundtrack and graphics!

SkullPixel says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:11am

Good job with the game man! The audio was particularly nice, considering I never can do any.

Janacek says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 6:44pm

Duuuuh, you got me intersted there ! Bring us the finished game please ! :D

TomenLuca says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 2:41pm

The game and story are pretty fun. But it would be even greater if Walker could run.

OberynMartell says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:31pm

Congrats on your first published project! =D I liked all the references to Breaking Bad! Good luck next time!

MemoryLeek says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:37pm

A bit to booring, the walk is way to slow taking ages to complete

Dec 19, 2015 @ 11:45pm

Walking is way too slow

ElliotFiske says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 11:46pm

Great start! I loved the dialogue, and how the thug had different things to say based on what you're carrying. It would be awesome if you could move a little faster though (even if you are called "Walker," not "runner")

Blake_Lead says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 11:50pm

Nice story you got here. It reminds me some old point & click I like.
I think a faster "walker" would improve the game a bit :). Well done anyway.

Xanjos says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 12:01am

Shame the story stops halfway through (and the game pace itself is really slow) but this was a pretty good entry and congrats on finally finishing a Ludum Dare game.

axoona says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 11:33am

this game has great potential, keep it up!
also very good audio.
the character could be walking a bit faster and the progression could be less linear but you already know that

crucknuk says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 9:41pm

Nice first published entry! I hope you will have time to finish it in a post-jam version of the game

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]