Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

The King is Dead

by Capitals - Compo Entry

"The glorious king of Voxelnor has been assasinated. King Cubelet was poisoned in the walled gardens. You, as the late king's only son, should be able to seize the throne on your arrival.

No!

Your Uncle, Cubius, has seized the throne and is sending an army to capture you. Use what you have learnt in your studies abroad to build up your own army and sieze the palace for yourself."

THANK YOU FOR PLAYING!
Now it's your job to rip it to shreds!

Oh, I know not many people read these, however it is lovely to be back. I haven't taken part in over a year. A lot has changed in my life but I am glad that this is now a part of my life.

List of Possible Improvements:
- Better Tutorial
- K.I.S.S Keep It Simple Stupid
- Design the Town, To Make it alive

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness58%
#49Innovation4.00
#218Theme4.03
#352Overall3.39
#447Graphics3.16
#617Fun2.97
#629Humor2.00
#724Mood2.58

Comments

RadMcCool says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:21pm

Its like there's this weird dissonance between how simple it is to make a move and how complex the implications of each move can be. I enjoyed fiddling but not sure I achieved much intentionally.

pluberski says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:32pm

Quite cool idea. I think I got stuck in a battle, but I might just be bad at the game. :)

SplittyDev says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:33pm

Interesting concept. I like it :)

Niphram says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:37pm

RElly nice concept, took me a while to figure it out, but once i got it it was really cool

MorganLeFay says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:40pm

Very complex game. I think I'd have to play for a long time to truly get how everything works. But I do like the game =)

amras0000 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:45pm

There's a lot of elements at play here, and a lot of them seem superfluous. Ultimately I was able to mash one of the keys and just push forward when given the option, and that won me a couple games. I still have no idea what the buildings accomplished, or what combat actually affected. If the end goal is to push forward, try and make the abilities around that, rather than around combat, maybe?
I did like the idea of being able to control the enemy's actions.

Also, a couple bugs I came across: the game freezes/locks up if S < 0. And at one point I had both options (A and D, both buff and debuff) be identical.

windwarrior says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:32am

Heya, thanks for checking out our game, I would like to return the favor, but I get timeouts on your game. Maybe a hug of death? You can try to host it on GitHub pages or even dropbox/drive :)!

PowerSpark says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:11am

It kept me hooked! Really strategic in how you can choose both actions! It took me forever but I destroyed their army.

MintArcade says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:51am

Very very nice game. It took me 74 turn to win. Very intuitive gameplay.

Neoludo says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:55am

Cool concept, it's like you've invented a new board game which is neat! It was definitely a challenging game, and some kind of sound would've been nice to give feedback to the player, but overall it's a very impressive effort for such a short time.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:55am

Cool concept. I liked the brief walk through at the beginning. I also like the level of complexity of the game

RARoadkill says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:47am

This is great, The movement system was a lot of fun. Great strategy game. Also welcome back

eerongal says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:49am

Pretty complex game for a LD entry! Interesting concept, though

justinooncx says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:52pm

Game froze when the enemy had negative values. Otherwise, an interesting game.

DivineOmega says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:42pm

A good game. With nice simple graphics. Good idea for a board game.

I felt very much at the mercy of chance and didn't advance far on the board really. That might just be me being bad at it though!

aare says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:24am

On the beginning I have no idea what to do and then after about 13 turns I get it! And it was quite coll and interesting, some aspect was still a little fogy to me but I was able to win somehow :)

Allthebees says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:42am

Really cool use of the 2-button theme, I thought the art style was great too. It's a pity the game got stuck when S<0 for the enemy as I would've loved to carry on.

Dec 20, 2015 @ 7:41am

I won in 115 turns. One of my favourite games so far, very unique idea, with a nice level of complexity.

local minimum says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 2:59pm

I found it interesting yet confusing. I couldn't really work out what the color-coding on the actions and the action below the action and stuff like that meant. I started reading the instructions before playing, but they were kind of long, so I would suggest having a step by step introduction while playing instead. Since it was very seldom I got a chance to move forward at all it seemed very hard to reach the goal. It also was very confusing why the armies scaled differently when entering battle mode compare to how they were represented on the playing field. Other than that, an interesting game. But sincerely I think the game, given the number of instructions possible, would do better outside the 'two-button' theme or have the controls reworked so one gets to select between slightly more options.

kabel says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 3:07pm

This is a bit too complex for one short playthrough. A more imaginative tutorial and maybe some test plays would have been nice, because it really gets confusing here and there. The idea is nice.

Jan 5, 2016 @ 12:40am

Interesting game. I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/R1E0Ch1WcpU

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]