Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Longbeard

by Joe Williamson - Jam Entry

Once again this was intended as a compo entry, solo and from scratch, but I ran out of time. I had pretty much all the art and music, but still needed a lot of work on the code. I gave up multiple times, then ended up throwing together this level in a frantic final two hours.

When your beard gets caught somewhere it shouldn't (it happens to all of us) you may need to restart.

[Plays best in Firefox rather than Chrome]

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness78%
#6Graphics(Jam)4.80
#12Innovation(Jam)4.24
#29Fun(Jam)4.06
#30Overall(Jam)4.17
#38Theme(Jam)4.32
#51Audio(Jam)4.07
#52Humor(Jam)3.93
#81Mood(Jam)3.93

Comments

oxysoft says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:33am

very good pixel art as always, would be a cool game if it were to be finished

Modoc73 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:35am

Great game, wish it went on longer. Music got a bit repetitive, but was good. And love the art style. Nice work, I've been waiting to play it.

alvaromartin says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:46am

Hilarious ending, that amped up your humor rating to 5. I loved it! Great pixel art as always. Music was sick too. Awesome game character animation, and the concept was great. It must be insane to develop a game like this in such a small amount of time. Great work and thanks for submitting even if it was unfinished!

SkullPixel says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:22am

WOW. I still can't believe people make this stuff so well. And really, stop being so good at pixel art, you'll make the rest of us feel bad. XD

xWarZonex says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:24am

As always! sick game! I loved the concept and the game with really fun. I'd like to see a post-jam version.

Eshford says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:29am

No comments. Absolutely incredible stuff.

VitasaMode says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:32am

I've been looking forward to this since the beginning. This has a lot of potential and I could see a full game with this if you plan on pursuing it further. I had a lot of fun and found it inspiring. Thanks for the game man and great job for what it is!

diest says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:34am

Very interesting concept! my only complaint is that it should be longer

Gabe_Fern says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:41am

Definitely, I haven't seen a better entry for this LD, even considering the game isn't complete and the time to upload the games just ended, because I've already played lots of entries.
You're a Pixel God and you know I think that, and the idea for this game is really promising!
You should make it a full one, or other's will "have the same idea" haha.
You're a genius folk, congrats!

_HopFrog says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:42am

Nicely done!

Zampi says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:42am

Absolutly amazing entry. Overall in all points!

10/10

Jwatt says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:47am

Audiovisually a pretty damn impressive entry.

But you could've afforded to sacrifice some of that detail in favor of more content. LD is always a learning experience in time allocation.

Robber says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:58am

so glad you submitted this! looks awesome, love the beard!

disdanes says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:13am

I really love the pixel art style, and the music was very fitting, it was fun swinging the beard around trying to hit all the switches! Great Job!

danbolt says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:26am

Really nice stuff, especially with the beard puzzles! I would have loved to see how this developers with the gameplay.

I'd encourage you to develop this into a more full IP later if you get the chance. The idea is really novel.

esayitch says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:27am

Pretty fantastic as usual. Hope you expand on this, can be a full release with some more work on levels and additional beard usages :D

salmonmoose says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:55am

Fantastic - I'd play this, particularly with some work on how you can use the beard for gameplay.

A little bit of work teaching the player how to get the beard swinging would be good, but sharp level design isn't expected in such a limited timeframe.

Devark says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:39am

Amazing artwork and great concept. Has a lot of potential. Awesome job as always!

alvarop says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:20am

Very nice take on the theme. As usual, your graphics are amazing as well as your gameplay ideas. I just wish there was more to it, a bit more challenges and such.

Anyway, it was prettyyy cool!

ChuiGum says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:45am

Once again, gorgeous graphics! And a really cool concept, would love to see this continued! Awesome job, again! c:

tGiant says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:49am

This is a very good game.
I will love to see how you did the beard effect.
Very well done.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:56am

So cute, I love the pixel art.

jackrugile says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:07am

Such a solid game all around. Amazing work! My favorite part is the coin graphic... so majestic.

MestreRothWP says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:14am

Great idea, concept, implementation, everything. :D

timeshapers says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:15am

Had serious performance issues, and I played it till the end anyway, brilliant.

Remicy says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:36am

This is amazing. 5/5 for all.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:40am

very well made!! great mechanic, just wish it could be longer~

Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:46am

This is hilarious the his beard swings around, you made the beard mechanic work really well and I could think of so many other things you could do with it, it would be amazing if you added more levels.
PS: you could've added in the 2 button theme as this only uses left right and jump.
:D

okusho says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:51am

Really useful beard !! I want to play more!! :)

tanis says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:06am

Art is super as usual! Nice music too :)
The concept is great, too bad it's so short :-P

Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:14am

Loving everything about it, took a bit to get used to the swinging of the beard but finally got the hang of it. Only complaint would be that I would love to heard some sounds and not just music, but great job overall!

GhostBomb says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:16am

And here comes Joe Williamson to claim his first prize in graphics per usual :P

vidarn says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:27am

Well, what can you say, it'g gorgeous!

middenkwaaii says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:36am

Lovely beard, original!

SteveSalmond says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:43am

Really cool! I thought the beard puzzling was interesting and original, and it worked very well mechanically (which surprised me). Needless to say the art is amazing, and I looooved the little intro sequence. Ok that might be enough praise. Oh, just one more thing - the music was great too, really set up the atmosphere. Ok, that's all :)

andrewkennedy says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:56am

I'm cracking up, this is too funny! Your games never disappoint: Love the art, love the music! Keep it up!

Valandre says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:11am

Very clever utilisation of the theme. I really love the music! but a little too short!

aamatniekss says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:17am

Fantastic idea, too bad you didn't make it in time. But it's great already! Pixel-art is god-like!

commodoreKid says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:24am

I think it's obvious to say graphics are awesome. We know your games now, it's kind of expected. To be honest Fathom was much more than this even though it was also short. I think fun is missing a little bit. Still kind of an original idea with the mechanic. Pity you struggled with code and time. Expecting better next time! :)

Andrew Deem says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:35am

This is, like, the third game in a row where I've been like "yeah, this is the best game I've played so far for LD34." Good lord man, that was fun. I love the art. It's SO GOOD. The audio is nice, the idea is both hilarious, fun, and unique for the theme. And I just cannot get over how much I enjoy the beard animation as you move and jump. Good work, 5/5.

NidzaKornjaca says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:41am

Cool game and cool idea, wonderful graphics.

winesays says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:42am

Awesome pixel-art and a cool idea! Well done :)

Remblej says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:55am

Best game so far :). I hope you are about to continue this after ld.

bradur says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:05am

Really good game!
+ Awesome graphics
+ Awesome music
+ Great gameplay idea and execution

- Short (understandable)
- No sound effects

ShadedVertex says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:12am

Hilarious! I love the idea. And the graphics are great! Sadly, there's only a single level...

logon13 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:15am

NOOOO Don't shave Mr LongBeard.

What an amazing game that was made in the amount of time. I love the pixel art style. The liquidy physics beard is amazing and I have no idea how you made it looks so good in such a small amount of time and the music is amazing

Boberro says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:17am

Short, but has potential to grow.

Donar says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:18am

This is a really great entry and it looks gorgeous. Sadly you didn't meet the Compo deadline but it's impressive either way. Sadly there is only one level - I'd like to continue playing ;)

Headmade says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:23am

Impressive entry again.

anael says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:24am

Very cool! So he keeps the gold in his beard that's why it's o heavy right? I'm amazed by the art, I already saw your animation cycle on twitter, nice very nice. Congrats!

Rfdshir says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:29am

Well done! Excellent game ^_^

Yamzho says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:35am

That game is awesome ! I want to see an entire post LD version of that game ! Well done Sir !

AndreasL says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:39am

Pretty cool! The beard growth is a really nice mechanic!
And I'd love to see it worked on some more.
Not sure if I got my bear-based platforming craving satisfied. But I enjoyed the short little game!

Great job!

pompaz says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:47am

Impressive!

Andarilhoz says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:03am

LOL, 10/10 first perfect score i give

Zegram says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:46am

Great game in every way except its pretty short.

AM_Games says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:52am

Excellent game, although it was a tad short!

Drtizzle says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:59am

Thank you for your kind words! It's a lot of fun seeing someone else play my game :)

Good thing you decided to finish your game after all, because it really turned out well. Graphics, music and gameplay are very good! The presentation is nice, it's a really smooth experience overall.

The only negatives I can think of are the lack of SFX, and that it is so short.

Well done!

hexagore says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:05pm

I had your stream on in the background while I was playing and rating games yesterday and so it's great to finally have a go on this. Glad I didn't watch you finish so that a little bit of the level was a surprise. :)

Clearly beard physics are the future. As always your pixel art is incredible (I would still happily kill to experiment with your pixel art in my game engine) but honestly I feel like it's your music here that's exceptional.

Congrats, and thanks for the entertaining streaming yesterday! :)

Tipyx says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:14pm

Rah ! Nice puzzle game, very beautiful, as usual ! I want more, you got here a nice concept :) !

Aaants says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:27pm

Lovely visuals as always - will be nice to see it finished

TijmenTio says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:43pm

sick entry. Feels super complete. Thought at first the growing beard to be a bit of a gimmick but it turned into a clever mechanic later on!

ruerob says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:49pm

Awesome and great game! Don't know what else I could say.

DragonXVI says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:01pm

Hah Nice :D Gorgeous game, if a bit simple. Nice little set of puzzles. Music seemed a little too 'epic' for what was going on :p

CremaGames says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:16pm

Really liked. Great art, great mechanic, a little bit hard to understand at first. Shame it's really short, but you can make a lot more of this idea if you try it. Congrats!

CremaGames says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:18pm

Really nice and polished game, congratulations.

The music fits perfectly with the game but it would be great to have some SFX. Also the coins doesn't fit perfectly with the game's mood and the fact that the more you pick the more your beard growths, I think it would be much better with some kind of lotion or something like that instead of coins.

Anyway, the game is really polished, fun, innovative and the graphics are almost perfect. I hope you will continue the development and count me as a day one costumer if you release it.

fullmontis says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:43pm

I really liked the game! I think the mechanic is pretty fun. The beard is a little hard to control though, which can lead to some frustrating moments. Graphics are gorgeus as usual.

Gamepopper says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:46pm

Glad to see you managed to submit the game on time! The beard mechanics work really well and looks really funny seeing it in action. Using the beard to solve door puzzles is really clever indeed! Great job!

scars377 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:26pm

Excellent game! Got my beard stock, it's a bug, haha.

Nega Drive says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:39pm

Gorgeous pixel art and very polished presentation over all. Gameplay is well done, and it has great beard physics. I don't think I've ever praised a game on its beard physics before, that's a new one.

banana4life says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:47pm

Love it! I wish it went longer :)

Leuthil says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:50pm

Love the beard mechanics. So short though :( lol

David Cookie says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:59pm

Wow, it's another level! The idea and execution are really great! Everything is perfect, it's almost as if I've played a finished game. Too bad there's no sound and the game is short but I can definitely see a lot of potential in this one. Well done!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:10pm

Awesome mechanic ! Could be for sure a real finished game

local306 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:11pm

I'm a little skeptic that this was done from scratch during the 2 or 3 days for LD. Great game idea nonetheless.

LeafThief says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:55pm

Just amazing. Incredible amount of polish. Good job! Also I love how you implemented mechanics and set up the puzzles to support them.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:02pm

Cool game!

GetDoSed says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:05pm

This is an amazing game! Only thing would be to make it a tad longer, as it is very short, other than that, Amazing!

01010111 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:24pm

Your art and music always amaze me! I wish the game were longer, and I think you could probably come up with a few more mechanics to help with that. Still, really remarkable stuff - I am always bummed when you don't submit to the compo so I can peep dat source :P

Pending Chaos says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:58pm

Very good though sometimes the player does not stop moving for a second when the keys are released.

FrederickK says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:05pm

There was a part the my beard got stuck and I couldn't progress. :\
Other than that, incredible in every aspect!
Great job!

Drauthius says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:16pm

Very well made with nice mechanics.

Harsay says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:25pm

Beardeful.

axoona says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:35pm

it's short but quite fun! nice idea with the growing beard.
the last switch is pretty tricky..

scorched says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:36pm

Haha, that was fun! :-)

careless says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:40pm

Really neat idea which has been well executed. Nice simple but challenging game. Love the pixel art.

The music helped build up a nice atmosphere.

The look and feel was quite similar to your previous entry "Fathom".

Over all great work though well done buddy!

recursor says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:46pm

What a neat idea for a game mechanic. Great art style and the music set the mood nicely. The game play was fun and felt polished. I want more levels and maybe some hazards and enemies to deal with. Nice job!

Meta-link says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:16pm

Amazing game, nothing else to say.
Really, the graphics, the mecanics are awesome, even the music is cool. Too sad the level is this short but it's part of the LD ...
Good job ;)

sputnik says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:49pm

Lot of potential here! As always, awesome pixel art!

Chubb1337 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:51pm

Very nice game, love the graphics, nice music also!
Too bad it's so short, would have loved more!

gillenew says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:54pm

Amazing,I wanted to know how to create a pixel art as fluid, and especially not unduly distort (as you usually do in their games, like the effect of the beard).

5 stars easy :)

hiki911 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:16pm

nice game, i really like it

Kimau says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:17pm

Sooo pretty! Plays amazingly well and I love the concept.

LeReveur says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:30pm

Very refined entry, as always ! Thank you for that smile you put on my face ! :D
But I probably miss something somewhere, because I'm stucked where the beard reached 2/3 on level 8, unable to touch the button, whatever I try to throw the beard under the half-opened door...

MorganLeFay says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:47pm

Truly awesome game. I wish I had your graphic skills! To bad you didn't finish in time. Like so many other I would love to see additional levels!

Pedrito73 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:05pm

Great game, really loved it. Nice art

Phoenix849 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:14pm

This is fantastic Joe, you never cease to amaze. Best I've played this LD so far. Wish the game were longer and easier to control the Beard.

markusfisch says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:05pm

Really funny idea! Again, you nailed it. Even if it's just one level. Graphics, gameplay, music, everything is just great! I would play definitely more levels!

GFM says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:27am

Noooo. It was so short... >__<

I'm pretty happy that you were able to finish something. Your games are always great, and I wanted to play it from the moment I saw the first pictures, on twitter! XD

The song was really fitting and the graphics were gorgeous! Even if with some rough spots... like the trees. XD It made for a nice contrast in the background!

The idea in this one is really solid! I could easily see this made into a full game, with mechanics like having to use your beard to swing to get to newer areas and stuff.

Great job!

Split82 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:30am

That music! Super mega awesome. Tried to give you 6 stars for that, but it didn't work :)

broknecho says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:44am

As always, Brilliant art. The beard growing is a neat mechanic if not a little frustrating like some physics is :P Great job!

Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:57am

This was a really cool mechanic, and the game is beautiful. Great job!

Jishenaz says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:32am

This is excellent, even though it was short. He sure has a heavy beard! If you continue making this, sound effects would enhance this already great experience.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:16am

Superb art and platform-controls, love the growing beard gameplay! Definitively missing sounds, but well... still a great game!

Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:28am

Really good idea could even be a whole game just by expanding the number of levels.
First of all I can´t stop looking at this atonishing graphics and the controls are also awesome cause they respond really well.
Maybe the physics could be some better but they are good enough to not result unfair

phi6 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:25pm

Top marks! Loved it!

lekochen says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:07pm

Interesting concept, fantastic graphics and music, I love it!

Tuism says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:26pm

Man, great work as always, even though the game just wasn't very good, that you took on the eccentric challenge was commendable :)

The core mechanics are a bit shaky, using the bouncy beard as an extension of yourself, while sounding novel, is a bit frustrating in practice for anything other than really simplistic actions. I think maybe if you got more mechanics and variations in, like sticky beard or something, it might be interesting.

Who knows! But the platforming is solid as always. And gorgeous. So gorgeous :)

Codexus says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:22pm

Nice game, good production values and a good idea, I would have liked to see it explored a bit more.

BeardyBard says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:34pm

What can I say.
There's growing beard in your game.
And it's awesome!

Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:12pm

Really cool graphics!!!

DrFallos says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:40pm

This is a great entry, love to see your experiments with mechanics and solid pixel art again. 5/5 =)

adamgryu says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:04pm

Really pretty! Amazing art and music!
Some sound effects and fighting I think could make it more fun, but the base game feels very solid, and the beard puzzles were clever :)

Tapehead says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:47pm

such a GREAT IDEA and it works very well!

newbeings says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:02pm

Great job!

Si1ver says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:10pm

Awesome!
The only problem is that actually you can't grow your beard by paying to it =P

local minimum says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:15pm

Cool idea and in general interesting concept. I enjoyed playing through the game. Graphics and music worked flawlessly together. My one concern would be that the beard and character controls weren't very easy to get right. I'm not sure what exactly felt lacking there, but I couldn't really get the feel. Then of course it would have been great if the game had been longer. But given that it must have been rather tricky to implement that beard mechanics, it is very understandable. Hope you find time to continue work on it.

Zanzlanz says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:56pm

Incredible as usual! :D Obviously the game was short with the frantically-put-together level, but it's really obvious how much skill and hard work you put into things like this. I really hope you make a post-compo version of this. <3

Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:35am

Very very cool :D I wasn't fond of the last button, I tried for a few minutes, then realized I don't just have to run back and forth, I have to press both arrows at the same time while running back and forth. But lovely job

Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:26am

nice, level graphics, art, jump animations. dat beard though!

bitdecaygames says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:39am

It ended right as I was really getting engaged in the mechanic. I would be very interested inf seeing what you can do with this idea if you had the time to expand the game.

Only part that made me sad (and it's a minor point) was not having any sound when I collected the coins.

Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:01pm

Great Idea, very creative. Enjoyed watching you make this on stream.

Good music, great art, great concept, everything fits together really well. Some sound effects would be nice, and a few of the buttons were difficult to press.

A pity that some features cost you too much time to put more content into this game. Hopefully there's a post-comp version coming?

Patomkin says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:12pm

Amazing game! Yes, it's short, but I played it twice. Really liked the art style (the pirate reminded me of Eric from The Lost Vikings) and then music kicked in and I was taken aback. Fantastic work!

Riftpoint says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:15pm

Very good game! One of the best of this ludum dare. Very creative gameplay. But the game was too short.

vinipereira says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:16pm

That entry was awsome! Rather than small, very cool!

loxo says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:38pm

Nice game with good graphics an music. A few sound effects would have been great though. The idea with the growing beard as a tools is very innovative to me and is fun to use. I played in chrome and couldn't notice any problems.

Hectigo says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:10pm

Best beard physics so far in this Ludum Dare! Too bad you couldn't make more content for the game.

francoisvn says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:11am

I want moar! :)

pjimmy says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 1:43am

superb game, very creative concept, stunning visuals, awesome audio, 5 stars ;)

Dec 18, 2015 @ 4:46am

Really love the music. Would be curious to know what tools you used. Graphics were excellent. First time through I couldn't get the beard to do what I knew it had to do to get by the last 2 puzzles and I nearly rage quit, but I gave it a second chance and it worked. Pretty fun little game.

Dec 18, 2015 @ 7:03am

If there is a 6 star for graphics I would give it that! There is so much I could learn from how you did your art. Very simple design but pops right out of the screen.
And the beard gymnastics is incredibly creative! Awesome work!

Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:06pm

Wish the level was longer but overall very clever idea and fun to play, and of course the art style is amazing, as is all of your art.

Xeke_Death says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:12pm

Visuals are amazing, and the music was cool and unobtrusive...

I had some problems with the last button, possibly due to the framerate being a little low for me...

Webravenz says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:46pm

not easy to play but great idea !

YoungHorses says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:23pm

I love what was here! Would love to see more done with this, I'm a fan of using physics to solve otherwise simple problems.

Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:07pm

Awesome game! Sadly it bugged out as my beard got stuck to the ground! Amazingly well made music and art! Good work!

Rodaja says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 2:32pm

Beautiful art. Silly idea (in a nice way) and nice implementation for the beard.

The lack of sound effects is a bummer, and the interactions feel a bit light (button seems to press itself behind the character instead of by his standing on it, the coin picking effects isn't great either,...) but when the main complain on a game is "it's too short" you know you didn't do that bad ;)

Good job!

wdebowicz says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 3:46pm

The moment when I found out that you need use your beard to do things, it was WOW.

Neil says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 7:18pm

Excellent art and really fluid responsive controls! The music is nice and the quick level was a lot of fun. Wish it was a bit longer!

gokottastudio says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 8:20pm

Fantastic job!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 2:16am

despite it being very short it was pretty awesome - the idea with the beard was wonderful - i suspect you spent a lot of time perfecting that part - great job

Dec 20, 2015 @ 6:00pm

It's a shame you didn't get to finish. Great interpretation of the theme though, and a beautiful looking game

RadStar says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 1:02pm

AMAZING !
Love it, I don't know what to say !
Cool music , beatiful graphics, interresting gameplay... Please make a full game out of it :)

I had some difficulty to activate the button on the roof, and my beard got stuck under a door and i could'nt open it. Except from that this game is perfect.

good job!

Bacontree says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 5:08pm

Incredible graphics and fun concept. Well done!

Dayko says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 8:37pm

Very nice concept ! Too bad for us that you didn't have time to develop it more :O

Dec 22, 2015 @ 4:30pm

The game mechanic and artwork stand out a lot in this game. The beard growth is a clever riff on the theme. Particularly great is that I am able to "accidentally" discover that waving the beard around triggers buttons -- but that doesn't mean I don't have to put in a small amount of effort to make it happen. Great gameplay experience. While I would love for there to be more levels and game content (and I hope it will come!), it's a solid and promising start.

jdoughty says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 6:37pm

Very excellent, let me know if you make a full game from this!

stefenism says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 8:10pm

In a perfect world beard length would be proportionate to wealth...but alas we have no such luck.

KaiseanGames says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 6:18am

I was playing this game, and just before I reached the end, I thought to myself: "I need to shave." A few seconds later, that was shown in the game. This game resonates. This is one of the more original entries. Very well done.

EvanEGibbs says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 8:40am

I always love seeing your Ludum Dare entries! The mechanic in this game is really cool! I love swinging the beard around to hit switches and such. The music and art is fabulous and I am just totally impressed. Awesome work!!! Thanks for being an inspiration. :)

cilerba says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 4:07pm

such a great idea, and fantastic art. 11/10

Dege says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 6:48pm

I'm growing my beard too. But it's not blue. It doesn't have super power then, does it?

NightShadow0 says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 1:49am

Haha fun concept! Shame you didn't have time for a longer level. Looks absolutely gorgeous, as usual. Nice work!

Xanjos says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 7:30pm

Too bad you didn't have enough time to fully finish this but based on what you've managed to throw together during those last two hours, this is a pretty well polished entry. Absolutely loved the art and sound and the beard growing mechanic was really cool.

Noah Ratcliff says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 7:39pm

Great use of the growing theme! I love your beautiful palette and how the gameplay matches the look of the game. However, some things were lacking as far as game feel. The music was lovely, but I felt that some foley and sound effects would have solidified the experience. Opening chests and collecting coins felt very shallow and meaningless as there was no audio feedback from these events. That being said, that's a minor complaint on an excellent entry. Great work as always, Joe!

Madball says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 5:09pm

The impression was great. Nice graphics and music (which reminded me of Abundant Music). I don't mind that the game is so short.

The beard seems glitchy indeed. It didn't get stuck for me (I made it stuck after), but physics are weird and unobvious. Works well, but not perfect.

randomhuman says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 11:15pm

I'm amazed that you got such a unique and tricksy mechanic working so well in such a short space of time, and with polished graphics to go with it. Fair play.

pixelpotions says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 2:42pm

Awesome game Joe! It's not finished but you were damn close! The only thing I really missed were some SFX.

Dejvo says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 5:27pm

AMAIZING!!!

rzuf says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 8:01pm

Metroidvania with only one "skill". :D Game looks and plays amazing. Level of polish here is impressive.

Mach60KAS says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 12:06am

Very lovely game - love the art style and the sea shanty soundtrack. Game is very short and abrupt though, I liked the concept but I don't really feel it was developed enough. I think this would be great if you had the time to work a little bit more on it, keep it up in future!

emmes says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 1:56am

OMG. Fantastic music and art! And the level is actually really fun. It took a while until I understood what to do with the beard, but then it was hilarious.

Jan 5, 2016 @ 1:58am

Haha, great work! Loved the idea, and it was enjoyable while it lasted

Jan 11, 2016 @ 10:45pm

Beautiful graphics, great concept! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/qJFJJ6gq7Ak

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]