Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Leaf Climber

by Linus123xbb - Jam Entry

Leaf Climber was our first game created together. We decided to combine both themes into one game and the result was Leaf Climber. This was my very first time using SFML and I enjoyed learnig it during this LD. The game itself didn't have much content but I used something else than Unity3D for a change.

The character sprite was created with maplesimulator.com thus I have disabled graphics ranking.

Please drop a comment below what you think of the game or if you find a game breaking bug.

------------------------------------------------------

Controls:

- Left arrow key to jump to left leaf
- Right arrow key to jump to right leaf

------------------------------------------------------

Tools used:

- SFML with C# bindings
- Visual Studio 2015 Community
- Github
- Audacity
- Photoshop
- maplesimulator.com
- abundant-music.com
- dreamlo.com
- Cellmon Engine

CHANGELOG:

- Fixed crashes with scoreboard

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#626Theme(Jam)3.56
#653Audio(Jam)2.56
#693Humor(Jam)2.31
#912Fun(Jam)2.61
#937Innovation(Jam)2.39
#963Mood(Jam)2.33
#1024Overall(Jam)2.63
#1817Coolness37%

Comments

bazz_boyy says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:00am

Hey man, simple but fun game. Nice graphics too. Well done! :)

Dooskington says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:41pm

Really simple game, probably should have been more in depth since this was for the jam. Also, the graphics were really off, for instance, you used a maplestory style character but extremely pixelated graphics for everything else. Nice job on submitting something, though.

xdigdoug says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:53pm

Well, that is a Maplestory sprite... I'm pretty sure. Try to be more original with your sprites :)
The game crashed for me after a couple of runs, and the scoreboard was blank. Also, the trees and options are the only things that seem to be animated.

Zeriver says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:07pm

Hmm game stops responding after i hit play and character jumps on the leaf. Don't know why, tried several time and only once i was able to play your game (game didn't crash until timer ran out).
Windows 10

Geckoo1337 says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:11pm

Nice entry. Cool aesthetic. Fun ++

beetracks says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 1:44am

Interesting idea, I like the way the leaf grows. I had a bug when I tried for the 3rd time and the game stopped. It wasn't specified any error, unfortunately.

Gipzo says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 6:22pm

Nice game :)
Interesting idea with scores on the tree.

dollarone says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 2:27pm

Cool game. I think you can only fail if you jump one branch too early, is that correct? Anyway, I really liked the ranking-signs as you pass them, nice touch :)

Jan 1, 2016 @ 3:43pm

Very simple, but fun game. Loved the high score names appearing on the tree. I one time apparently lost before the time finished? I'm not sure what I did different that time, as it wasn't very clear.

Tosic says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 3:58pm

Could get buggy... but overall I liked it!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]