Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Wild West Farm Shooter

by CAT_IN_THE_DARK_WOOD - Jam Entry

You see, in this world there's two kinds of people, my friend: Those with loaded guns and those who dig. You dig. And water. And harvest. And also have loaded gun to compete with your neighbour.
Water plants in time to make it grow, don't let it dry. Grow plants faster then your neighbour to win. Shoot in neighbour to slow him down and spill water from his bucket.

It's network game, so make sure you have friend to play with and ports 9000 & 9001 forwarded on your router to play over Internet.

Control: A/D - walking / crawling
Ctrl - duck
Left Mouse Button - shoot

To run game as a server, just launch .jar file. To run as a client, launch .jar witn x.x.x.x argument, where x.x.x.x - IP address of server

=============================================================
Watch the youtube gameplay video if you have no friends to play with via network. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nZksV7j95R8
=============================================================

Engine: libgdx
Language: scala
Platform: Cross platform, required java runtime environment(jre) http://www.java.com/en/download/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness69%
#86Humor(Jam)3.75
#117Fun(Jam)3.73
#175Innovation(Jam)3.63
#189Overall(Jam)3.70
#262Graphics(Jam)3.91
#369Audio(Jam)3.29
#378Mood(Jam)3.38
#480Theme(Jam)3.71

Comments

fergarram says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:54am

I like this game but maybe if you limited a little more your color palette it would look better!

alexrus07 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:55am

Really great take on the Wild West theme, and the entire concept just makes me smile. Was a really fun game, great job!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:01am

Great art! Good game!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:27am

Nice animations and a really solid concept! I really liked it.

ErinMcBride says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:31am

This is adorable! First game here that made me laugh out loud.

bodsey says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:32am

I'm not going to rate everything because I can't play with someone, but congrats for making a MP game for LD, I'm impressed. Looks good as well

issa says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:06pm

Everything about this seems fantastic, aside from the fact that I can't play it.

Ghen says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:18am

the idea of the game almost the same with mine!, awesome!
but of course this much more polish
i love the visual and the sound design, great work overall! :D

Loneshark says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:35am

I want to give this entry high ratings across the board, but I've only watched the video and haven't played it. I'll try to convince a friend or coworker to give it a shot (bang!), though.

Valandre says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:47pm

Mouahaha! one of the funniest entry! solid gameplay!

Saivan says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:41pm

Very funny game! It is a great game that i could play with friends. think in put it online!

Anshul Goyal says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:01pm

Too bad you cant play this in single player. Looks very interesting.

Husky says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 7:06am

Really nice one! :D
I especially love the presentation of camera movement when hiding! it improve the tension and smooth a lot.

jachepe says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 11:29am

Great game in all points! I love the graphics. Good work!!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]