Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Slime Smasher

by Anachron - Compo Entry

Mash the buttons as fast as you can to smash the slimes!

Post-Compo V0.3 -
Added new slime + boss slime
New game over screen
Particle effects on smash
Fixed bug with keyboard control

V0.2 -
Slightly harder difficulty
"Music"

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness63%
#90Humor3.50
#237Audio3.18
#625Mood2.77
#650Theme3.53
#689Fun2.85
#776Overall2.88
#850Graphics2.21
#867Innovation2.35

Comments

davesoft says ...
Dec 12, 2015 @ 12:23pm

Cool, reminds me of old track n field games :)

behzad_robot says ...
Dec 12, 2015 @ 1:19pm

the graphics is some how a pain. Way tooo simple pixel art ,but really cool gameplay :D

Dec 12, 2015 @ 2:12pm

graphics does not fit at all, but nevertheless it forced me to beat the game in 834 mashes:P

ebdekock says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 5:18am

This game crushed me.

bazz_boyy says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 10:38am

Thanks for the game, It gave me carpal tunnel

pvwradtke says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:27am

OK, apart from almost destroying my keyboard, this is a fun to play entry. Extra points for the original soundtrack :).

fractalbear says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:29am

ahahahahahahahaa love it!! THE MUSIC!! Smashing simply smashing :D

Bloodyaugust says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:12am

Fucking hilarious. Nicely done on the music. Maybe make it harder, with more levels?

Krafty says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:43am

Really silly! I like this =P

liquidmedia says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:09am

Nice game play but I want to see some graphics

Oye Beto says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:29am

oh my poor keyboard D:
:P

Eigen says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:28pm

Loving the music! Maybe the slimers should have some hit animations, some slime particles flying off as they get hit. Pretty solid otherwise.

candlesan says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:37am

I love that you recorded your own music :)

Iman_axe says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:34am

Dude! :D who's gonna pay for my keyboard?!? nice job btw

Grahhhhh says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:25pm

Try and try as I might, I can't get past the dark blue slime, long since past are the days my fingers can keep up with this new generation haha. Nice music too haha, I didn't something like that on mine.

Dec 20, 2015 @ 2:01am

I think I'd rather have had silly sound effects than the "music" but it is pretty catchy anyway. xD

Got through three slimes. Really quite difficult, but kinda fun.

Dec 20, 2015 @ 6:15am

Awesome music! The mechanics reminded me of the old Track & Field arcade game. Nice job.

Pilly says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 9:15pm

The only Ludum Dare game that's ever left me out of breath. Mostly from me laughing at myself furiously mashing buttons with that ridiculous music playing in the background. Well done :)

Benjamin says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 10:13am

Hey I finifhed it ! Nice music. Sometime I have the feeling that game is harder when slime is closer.

mar3k says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 5:18pm

Nice game, also the music really got me :D

Zanzlanz says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 3:53am

Hahaha XD I don't know what else to say! I played a couple times and got my lowest score to 272. My poor keyboard xD

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]