Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Space War Z

by Reinoso - Jam Entry

You are a space monster that will rule the galaxy! Destroy, evolve and kill everyone!
It was an idea to hold the two themes of this Ludum Dare!
Focused on fun!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#360Theme(Jam)3.83
#465Innovation(Jam)3.21
#522Humor(Jam)2.64
#649Audio(Jam)2.57
#743Fun(Jam)2.88
#879Mood(Jam)2.61
#938Overall(Jam)2.79
#1888Coolness35%

Comments

RadMcCool says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:16pm

Nice use of themes :D
Is the way the level spirals outward a play on the growing theme?

Reinoso says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:16pm

Also. I use this idea with the idea of ​​the monster grow and decrease the screen!
Thanks for comment 'RadMCCool'.

Reinoso says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:21pm

The game also is subject use two buttons control . Since it also requires only two buttons for interacting with the game.

mockthebear says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:30pm

Sometimes the sound get too loud and screen shakes unstopable. But its a cool game tbh c:
i think if it was a bit more fast will be nice!

im-oab says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:31pm

I like game music. :)

Melusine says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:35pm

I like how the monster grows. Cool game

Reinoso says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:47pm

mockthebear,the screen shakes purposely, the higher the monster, the more you shake!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:42am

The concept is really cool ! :D I think the sounds of the game are a bit too loud but besides this little detail, it's fun to play, congrats :)

Reinoso says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:16am

Erwann Depaeuw really in the music Question'm still improving, I selected songs to describe the game universe, I hope you enjoyed.

Catblocker says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:13pm

Nice play with the theme.

exhidor says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:16pm

I love the concept !

justinooncx says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:18pm

Those lasers hurt my ears! Otherwise, it's pretty cool how the platforms spiral outwards like that! Frustrating, but cool!

kernel panic says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:24pm

Right arrow seems to stop you, so that's kind three buttons - or maybe that's just a one key cheat code ;)

It would have been useful to have the instructions explain that enemies can take multiple hits.

Overall, good game. Well done.

Reinoso says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:46pm

kernel panic I'll be honest, to use one of Construct BEHAVIOUR .. may be that the third button was ... sorry hehehhe

pjimmy says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:33pm

Awesome! Very creative platformer, well done :)

FrederickK says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:13pm

I loved the idea! Make the platforms spin like that, I think I never saw it before.
The platforms could be bigger, it would make it more forgiving to avoid the obstacles.
Good job! :)

Andrei says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:09am

Fun game!
Innovative spinning world ^^ I see how you care about some details. Nice!

Didi says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 2:57am

Gostei como o bichinho cresce

Clabbage says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 7:45am

I liked the music, however the sound effects grew to be a bit grating after a while. The rest of the game was solid and well done.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]