Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

You Make It To The Mansion...

by Esjaji - Jam Entry

****************HEY GUYS (AND GALS), NEW UPDATE AVAILABLE****************
Fixed an issue with the enemy speed (it's a lot to do with me being dumb and not making the speed framerate independant), and hopefully, some optimisation will help the game run smoother for some!
*************************************************************************

"Oh, so you've snagged enough loot to last you a lifetime? Yeaaaah, let's see you drag it through that door over there!"

Controls are specified within the game... every time you restart!

Whoo! So I actually finished a game this time! It's a little ropier than I'd have liked, but it's done!

Basically, the thing that's "growing" in the case of this game is your big ol' loot sack! It's both a sign of your new-found riches... and the weight hanging over your shoulders to get out as soon as possible. Models were made in 3DS Max, textures in Photoshop, and the game was developed in Unity3D with Visual Studio 2015. The sound affects I can't take credit for, because I acquired them from some royalty-free sound site (credits are in the game!). But overall, I'm fairly happy with getting the game more or less in a complete-ish state.

I would really have liked to have spent a little more time on asset creation. ( There's a lot of items that are hidden in crates and stuff that you don't get to see physically within the game, and it would've been nice to have some things such as chairs (you know, the things people tend to have in houses) as inconveniences. Not to mention, everyone seems to be a capsule with cube hair (of a variety of colours!), which I would have liked to work on. Also, I probably would have liked to have made some music or something, polished up the interface (it doesn't even scale properly!), but as usual, my time management is less than stellar.

Hope you enjoy the game, and have fun!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#230Innovation(Jam)3.53
#310Mood(Jam)3.47
#423Graphics(Jam)3.63
#583Theme(Jam)3.60
#641Overall(Jam)3.19
#791Fun(Jam)2.80
#1952Coolness32%

Comments

Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:12pm

The game looks really really good, well done! I like the idea but I couldn't find a way to get past the first "guard"... played it on Mac, maybe a build thing.

puddelipip says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:02pm

Was also unable to pass the first guard, feels like there could be something here, hard to tell.

CatOnMars says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:16pm

I like your concept and design, but the graphics are too performence costing. The floor uses a normal map? Real-time shadows and lighting? This runs at less than 10 fps on my laptop. It's a pity, but I think it's a well made game!

Iman_axe says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:11am

didnt pass the guard , but i liked the concept and graphics. so well done!

Almax27 says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 8:01pm

Also didn't pass the guard. Nice idea and really great visuals but needs optimising.

DalsGames says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 8:49pm

Looks great, too bad that the ui was not scaling. Keep it up!

hpearson2 says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:20pm

UI didn't scale for me and had to alt-f4 to exit. The bad grows and slows you down a lot faster then I would like, 95% of loot will have to left and never touched because picking up an extra apple is a massive gamble already. (It is hard to complete the game without getting any loot). With all that said I liked the game, the sound and shadows are nice and the AI is decent/retarded enough to have charm. Good mood

Echo Team says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:30pm

No need to include the debug files! They are big :)

mr. a says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 12:56am

Oof. That maid seems to be on amphetamines on Mac. Tried downloading the "guard update" build, but it won't run -- seems to be corrupted. (Tried downloading it twice, just in case, but no change. It seems to be ~2x the filesize of the original, too.) Maybe I'll circle back later, as I'd only be comfortable rating the humor category so far.

Chubb1337 says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 12:18pm

This game looks good, but it's so laggy and buggy. Sorry man, couldn't rate it high. If it were to run a bit smoother, this could be a very interesting game!

mahjong50 says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 7:47pm

I really like the idea, but the mansion doesn't feel like a mansion.
First of all the lay out feels unnatural and illogical for the inhabitants to be standing amidst of a corridor with "nothing" better to do.
And i think the game would be better if the lay out of the mansion was better optimized.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]