Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Get Huge

by Lancey - Compo Entry

Get buff! Run through the gyms and collect all the protein powder! Watch out for pitfalls and punching bags!

Made with Construct 2 to fit both themes, growing and 2-button controls.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#33Humor3.94
#88Theme4.21
#477Fun3.16
#490Mood2.94
#536Overall3.17
#571Innovation3.00
#629Graphics2.84
#2043Coolness28%

Comments

CaptainNakou says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:00pm

Can't do the punch at the end.
But we laugh a lot, because we have friends who are exactly like that.

Andarilhoz says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:02pm

Haha, it was really nice, just felt like the collision its a little weird, some times you hit something even not close, but i love how you used the theme, and when you got big is hilarious

RadMcCool says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:09pm

The growing limbs is a really neat idea. Nice melding and implementation of themes. GG

sharpfrog4 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:22pm

Punching the top of the wall breaks the bottom of the wall, then you still hit the wall and die? The humor was excellent, and I loved the growth mechanics!

pjimmy says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:23pm

nice, cool concept

AzureAspect says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:24pm

Whoo, Im the muscle champ!
Interesting idea, wish actualy gym training was this easy :D

fistmaker says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:25pm

Fun game, controls are a bit off, wasn't able to punch. Good entry otherwise.

ianh says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:48am

Definitely the funniest game of LD34 so far!

psychonull says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:16am

LOL awesome one!, the entire growing dude are hilarious. couldn't punch the door :(
good game!

randomhuman says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 12:15pm

The growth is pretty funny :) Can't figure out how to time the punch at the end though, I couldn't get past level 2. Really needs some sound.

ChuiGum says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 12:45am

Awesome in humor! Great game too! ;)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]