Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Cavern Climber

by fashionbatman - Compo Entry

My game for Ludum Dare 34!

CAVERN CLIMBER!

Jump from ledge to ledge for as long as you can to escape the growing pit of lava below you! Sometimes you'll lose your grip, sometimes there just won't be a ledge to grab. Don't fall!

People who've played have given some great suggestions to improve it, so I've started working on my Post-Comp build!

You can download it here: https://www.dropbox.com/s/tczceppjrqpqlrj/CavernClimberPostComp.zip?dl=0
The change log is included inside.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#473Graphics3.10
#481Audio2.63
#498Innovation3.13
#599Theme3.58
#704Overall2.98
#776Fun2.68

Comments

yumaikas says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:06am

Controls are a bit.... Hard to get used to.

graceavery says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:08am

Really digging the atari-look graphics / sound!
Found the game itself pretty hard, I think having the platforms break makes it a bit too easy to die. The controls themselves work well with the 2 button layout, but holding down the button for 6 seconds each time you die is too long. Kudos for putting this together in a 48 hours, and nice work overall! 'v'

Bogden says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:17am

Neat little concept. A bit on the hard end, and the only thing that really bugged me was trying to jump straight up and accidentally moving one way or the other.

ProjectX593 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:19am

The random platforms sometimes make it so it's actually impossible to progress. Also when jumping, hitting the keys at an odd time sometimes changes your jump angle.

adamk33n3r says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:25am

Very interesting theme usage here. Seems pretty polished as well.

Sidenote: You seem to have uploaded the dev version of the application. That's why the file size is so large.

rosden shadow says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:29am

died to disappearing platform...my life is over. nice game though

Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:15am

Very interesting game. Fits the theme well. Takes a little getting used to, but pretty fun. Great job!

ambi says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:38am

I guess it's because it's random, there's sometimes a situation where there's no way up? Also I couldn't figure out the controls. It seemed you could accidentally change direction while jumping up.

blohod says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:43am

Fun, nice graphics, the sounds are a bit harsh though and the restart should be instant in my opinion.

Khamekaze says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:54am

The graphics are really nice and Atari-like, and the controls are pretty sweet once you get used to it.

bazz_boyy says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:59am

lol! Actually quite a fun game; however the 'hold for 3 secs to start' function puts me off playing over and over. I like how the whole software itself is controlled with 2 buttons.

vegapomme27 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:29am

Nice ! The idea is really good. The controls are not smooth enough I think and restarting the game is a bit too long, but I like the general feeling.
Good job

@SamPotasz says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:10pm

Nice entry! With a game like this where you die a bunch of times, it'd be really nice to have a quicker restart process.

LavWa says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:08am

Cool retro graphics ! Hard game, but pretty challenging :) Good work !

antonuklein says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:06am

Interesting, fits the theme, but the controls seem like they came out of a ZX Spectrum. Alas, that's the limit of our theme.

SpareWizard says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:49am

Nice aesthetic. There should have been a small amount of tolerance in the controls so that you can jump without changing directions unintentionally.

forer says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:48am

Echoing other people but I like this, but I think the combination of completely random platforms along with the destructable grips, along with the speed of the kill plane rising means that because I'm not psychic I will have no chance to make up for picking the wrong option.

qwetro says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:13am

Fun. But the sound is a bit too hash, killing my ears.

Ryusui says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:19am

I like this - it makes me think a lot of GIRP (by the creator of QWOP). The only problem is, vertical jumps are next to impossible - maybe it would've been better to have one button toggle directions and the other jump?

globemaster says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:56pm

I think it would have helped a lot to have an immediate restart instead of waiting so long to restart. It would make a difficult game like this less frustrating. Like how Super Meat Boy allows you to restart immediately. Nice job, though!

Peekotus says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:16am

Controls are a bit wonky but has a great style of graphics.

srakowski says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:28am

I really really enjoyed the style of this game, I would refer to it as "old school" in a good way :). Great audio/graphics. I also really liked the countdown when you hold the escape to exit the game. That was a lot better than a "are you sure" or just exiting. I may steal that for my future games :)

crucknuk says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:35am

Nice compo! Maybe you should avoid plateforme to be completely random because sometimes, you get stuck. Jumping straight ahead is also difficult, but the concept is cool. Good job

crucknuk says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:57am

The gameplay is interesting, but the game is very difficult. I like the old school feeling, this is great!

RARoadkill says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:13am

Controls were tricky but it is a lot of fun. Seems like the kind of game that would have killed my thumbs on the atari

2pae says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:40am

Pixel art is perfect for me, i love it, really, good job. But the controls are hard. Congratulations

Logicon says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:19am

I really like the music and art for the game, but the controls made it almost unplayable. you could have used some sort of non random to make it easier, like left arrow key could only be down or left and right arrow key could only be up or right.
You could also have put in some checks to ensure you didn't roll and get the same direction twice, or couldn't have the same direction stored on both buttons.

Logicon says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:36am

Whoops, commented on the wrong game by accident. Real review here:
Controls were hard to use, often when I tried to jump up I would change the direction of my jump and end up jumping to my death.
Maybe if you used a slight delay in the input of changing movement and in that time if both keys were pressed, not change direction

pjimmy says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:31pm

I love the retro style you went for, but the controls... ugh!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]