Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Crow Wing

by elliottd - Compo Entry

Move left and right to operate the puzzle

arrow keys
or A/D
or gamepad left analog stick / d-pad

please leave some feedback and check out the time lapse I made
Thanks!

BUGFIX
In the spirit of bug-fixing, I am making new builds with 5 changes:
1: some platforms were marked that you could hang form them incorrectly
2: repositioned a camera that cut off some of its level
3: moved one of the items so you don't start on top of it without collecting it
4: reduced the build sizes by shortening the music
5: hide the cursor on start

A couple people have experienced models showing completely black in some parts of the game. I'm not sure what is causing that, and it seems to happen only with Windows builds so far. I've just updated the windows build with DirectX11 disabled, though I'm not sure that will solve the problem.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness63%
#155Innovation3.72
#165Graphics3.81
#175Mood3.47
#193Theme4.06
#244Overall3.55
#256Audio3.13
#400Fun3.26
#626Humor2.03

Comments

misteak says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:32pm

nice! I liked how the character changed to reflect the items you got. also: stomping buttons <3

XenosNS says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:15am

cool idea!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:30pm

This is briliant! Nice work elliotd. After I completed the game I kept playing and Iw as able to kill the straw men with my claws. Super cool. I was amazed at how many different things you got the character to do. Its a bit disorienting at the very beginning but after you understand whats going on its fast and fun to play.

buddhaman says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:55pm

Very cool how you can do so much with only two buttons. It was very intuitive.

MemoryLeek says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:06pm

Creepy music and nice graphics, makes for a nice mood :)
Was a bit hard to grasp in the beginning, but once you understand the controls it's fun.
I had some graphical artifacts on Linux, looked like some glitching polygons, but nothing too major.

StitchesMagoo says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:11pm

Love the art, really do! Nice attention to details all these add to the creepy atmosphere. Nice work.

ripatti says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:14pm

Interesting mechanics. I like performing actions in two steps and the action that it will be depends on which button is pressed on the second step. Nice models too!

DrTeaSpoon says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:42pm

Some parts of the level didn't show on smaller resolutions. (the very last bit with long flight)
Innovative puzzle controls. The items being reflected on character was good touch.

SSJMetroid says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:22pm

Very solid entry. I am personally not really into puzzle games but I played through this one.

Chewie says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:30pm

Great game! Movement mechanics, items that give you additional abilities, everything is great. It's one of the best puzzle's on this LD I think. Overall flow is just right. Great job ;)

RevelBase says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:26pm

Quite a Jack of all trades :) very nice entry, loved the timelapse!

nodens says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:08am

This is a really cool game. Enjoyed seeing the character changing (or growing as part of the theme). Would love to see more from this.

OnlySlightly says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:10am

Loved the mechanic. The puzzle were interesting without being frustrating. Getting the crows feet and the wings felt really cool. The low poly aesthetic was lovely,along with the music it gave it a surreal quality

rogueNoodle says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:19pm

Really nice work! Nice visuals, unique puzzles, and the level design did a great job of making the various mechanics clear without needing a tutorial. Would love to see this expanded on, actually

Tuism says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:01pm

Hmmmmmm.

The mechanics feel completely arbitrary, and sometimes doesn't quite follow its internal set of logic. Sometimes I would walk along flat stuff and become a ledge grab.

It feels like a sokoban game, which is a good thing, but I feel like the internal logic needs to be stronger for it to become a puzzle to solve rather than a thing to try everything to see what works. The saving grace was that "everything" was two buttons and things happened really quickly so it was easy to try everything quickly.

elliottd says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:54pm

thanks @Tuism, I'm going to try to address that with a bug fix. there are a couple platforms that were set up incorrectly. Also fixing the camera cropping @DrTeaSpoon

local minimum says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:02pm

Interesting way to build up a puzzle and make the most out of two buttons. The stomping/heavy drop was really nice. Great work on models in general. I didn't really get if the game was meant to look a bit glitchy on some tiles or if it was a technical issue. I'm all for glitch though, but the game didn't look like a glitch game. A way to exit the game would have been nice too. Interesting start for a puzzle-type platformer, it'd be nice to see where you take it if you decide to continue dev on it.

Tapehead says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:41pm

a bit confusing but very interesting and cool implementation of control! good job! :)

Farelle says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:11pm

Very nice, it's a bit hard to get into it though, regarding the changes of characters behaviour with only 2 buttons and for some reason the later lvls had textures replaced with pure black (from other comments I would say it's the resolutions fault) overall, the atmosphere was nice and the character visual changes including the skill changes were really interesting :) and I like shapeshifting :D

Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:15pm

I loved seeing this progress, it turned out really awesome!

jackolondon says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:20pm

cool idea! I don't know if it's a bug or something, but some platform are displaying black, whitout texture.
Great job by the way!

keanerie says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:50am

Great stuff!! I loved the progression of the character and the puzzles.

Jishenaz says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:11am

Lovely game! Art and controls were great. The music was quite interesting; it was atmospheric, but also a tad bit eerie. I saw the timelapse; a ton of stuff was done!

dx0ne says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:32pm

Almost everything about this is great. Perfect use of two buttons vs lots of mechanics. Love the winged clawed hero - you must do more with this one.

Subbed on itch.io for post LD update.

Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:14pm

Original use of the 2 buttons theme!
BTW you can get rid of those pdb files in the archive, so that the zip file doesn't weight that much :)

publicidadeba says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 1:24pm

Had a blast with. I liked the transformation of the main character!

Anshul Goyal says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 6:39pm

Cool idea. I like the puzzles a lot.

oparisy says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 10:22pm

Pleasing to play with, elegant and minimalistic mechanics. Very nice modeling, your shading is a bit strange (normals?). The "alternate" passages were a nice touch, I replayed this some times expecting a secret passage somewhere :-)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]