Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Bargain Bonsai

by Rscar - Compo Entry

Bargain Bonsai!

As the Bargain Bonsai shop owner, it is your quest to have the BEST DAY EVER.

Help your customers prune their bonsai trees to perfection! Use the left/right arrow keys to guide your clippers for tree trimming. Satisfy as many customers as possible. Your business day will end after 3 angry customers.

4th LD compo entry, great time as always! This time I picked an idea that was a little more narrow in scope, and felt like my scheduling was much better this time around. I also tried to take the game art in a direction that's uncomfortable to me. Not happy with it yet, but there is improvement I believe. Overall happy with the way things turned out, the polygon math is working as expected (mostly, bugfixed a bug that I was not able to reproduce, best type), I feel like I was able to "finish" within reason, and enjoyed doing a style of game that was new to me. If I had more time, I would have liked to make a more cohesive "end" to the game, like some results screen, or anything other than a game restart...

Talk to you all soon!

Tools:
Unity (c#, Visual Studio)
Photoshop
sfxr
www.fakemusicgenerator.com
ClipperLib (polygon math library)


Note: I felt weird using the music that I didn't make myself, it was made using a generator (which the rules advised was allowed/"encouraged"). From my research, this generator is legitimate. Info found here: http://www.jacoballred.com/free-stuff/fake-music-generator/ If I actually am somehow violating any rules, someone please let me know so I can take necessary actions.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#72Innovation3.93
#108Graphics4.00
#142Humor3.26
#144Overall3.72
#263Audio3.11
#316Mood3.22
#338Theme3.90
#446Fun3.20

Comments

Todnut says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:06pm

Neat idea! The art and style are super cute. I'm not sure how many customers are in a day - they just kept coming.

Dooskington says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:18pm

Your windows download is broken. You have to package the .exe and the data folder together.

mrjorts says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:24pm

Neat little game. I hit a wall at some point and wasn't able to get any stars, but I wasn't sure exactly why I was failing. Feedback would make it a little less frustrating.

gv1351 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:26pm

Great idea for a game

Adolf Jong Un says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:26pm

What a great game! the art is good, so is the music. i love the gamplay even tho i suck at it. good job!

davesoft says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:26pm

Awesome game, innovative use of 'top down driving' mechanics :D

MattThePie says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:27pm

Really original idea, I like it. Love your art style too! It did get repetitive pretty quickly though

dusho says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:30pm

amazing idea :)
really hard when getting faster
music was really annoying after some time

bazkur98 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:32pm

A great idea executed pretty well. Haven't ever planned something like before. Not sure I'd call it fun, but worthwhile for a few minutes anyway. Graphics are done extremely well. I think some tutorial would have been nice, the first couple time playing I just let the scissors run straight up ;)

laFunk says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:43pm

Very very good in all aspects! <3 the expressions on the customers; the music is beautiful and fits nicely. Cheers!

MrDave says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:52pm

Loads of really nice graphical touches in this game. And I really love the mix of 2D and 3D.

The music fits in really well to bring this whole game together. Love it.

Rscar says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:05pm

@Dooskington Thank you! Windows standalone should now be functional

Piode says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:01pm

A really interesting, weird game. It's relaxing and fun on the one hand, quite tricky and amusing on the other. I laughed when I got my first angry customer; their angry expression and sudden music stop was well done.

TomenLuca says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:02pm

The artstyle is amazingly well done. The gameplay gets repetitive rather quickly however.

Max Amaden says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:43am

Nice game! Good job!

Drtizzle says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:06pm

Nice little game! Reminded me of the frog-dissecting in the game Bully(Canis Canem Edit). It works well, the graphics are pretty decent, but the game gets a bit boring after a while.
Good job!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]