Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Gravity Glide

by Tragon - Jam Entry

Gravity Glide is a Shoot-em-up sidescroller in which your spaceship is permanently falling up and down between two gravitational sources.

But you control which source is active.

Invert the gravity to fall up and down but do NOT crush against the walls!

Hit points are reflected in your size that grows and shrinks accordingly.

Have fun, and don't forget to shoot!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness60%
#90Fun(Jam)3.80
#231Overall(Jam)3.63
#360Theme(Jam)3.83
#424Innovation(Jam)3.27
#462Mood(Jam)3.28
#542Graphics(Jam)3.41

Comments

samreid says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:19am

Excellent graphics, nicely done! Enjoyable gameplay as well.

disdanes says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:19am

This was really friggin cool, I love this kind of shooter, and the invert gravity button was genius!

MisterAddy says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:22am

I really enjoyed it. Nice graphics, especially the particle effects, and the gameplay was more fun than I was expecting. I think I'll play it again!

RARoadkill says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:38am

Fantastic Game. The power ups and bosses were great. really enjoyed it

ZONC says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:40am

A lot of fun, very nice ;)

Diventurer says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:25pm

Very nice game with good graphics and audio. I played for quite a while until I accidentally went too far up. :(

It was fun with random bosses and getting upgrades! Felt good to play the game, nice controls.

monetai says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:44pm

Very good!! At first I was sceptic about the gravity thing, but it's really a good idea, it's fun and really simple to use, add a gravity notifier on the spaceship, make it on android and you'r rich !!!

AndyBrown says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:45pm

Fun game, loved the wild boss encounters! Just wish they kept appearing. I made it to level 50 something before my will to press space over and over died out.

treslapin says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:43pm

Fun! Once I got the hang of it, I got pretty far. :) I love the graphics. It also felt really great to play.

ajopart says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:19pm

Nice concept. Well done

Drtizzle says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:57pm

Very well done!
The graphics look really nice, especially the asteroids.
The music in combination with the pace of the game is really hypnotizing, it kept me going on forever.
Too bad there are no more bossfights :)

Good job!

Mr MadCat says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:38pm

Great concept.
And very smooth Gameplay. Well done.

tantumgames says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:55pm

I really like this cute graphics. Nice done!

Switchiers says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:33pm

Nice game but it's too bad that enemies appeared on the screen (instead of appeared a the right of the screen)
But very pleasant to play this game

Lullaby says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:18am

Nice entry, with cool mechanics! I only played it in the "easy" difficulty, so maybe that's why, but I didn't get how useful could be the bullet time glameplay-side.

Well, good job to you guys!

OctoStudio says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 2:03pm

This is not my favorite kind of game but the gameplay get you wanted to do better. Simple but efficient! Good job!

Almax27 says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 2:09pm

Great game! Some fantastic subtle hints on the direction of gravity (top/bottom bars and floating particles). Controls where a little confusing at first but once I understood the mechanics it was awesome :D

Polona says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:51pm

Great game. I love it.

Alloyed says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 7:50pm

+ A game where you control gravity
* I seemed to be shooting all the time, so for me at least it was a one-button game :p (webplayer on firefox)
- I felt there was a lot of psuedo-variety, ie. stuff that you normally put into the game to introduce gameplay variety like powerups and bosses, that didn't _really_ change the core gameplay loop any. I never really noticed when I picked up score or a powerup, and the bosses weren't didn't have particularly lethal patterns so I just juggled near their center. Doing less of that and focusing more on the individual enemy patterns would have made a much stronger game within the 48 hours imo

KanedaXIII says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 3:11pm

Very interesting and entertaining game! And cool graphics and sound, and even with some bosses, great.
The only bad thing I saw is that the UI of the main menu is inconsistent thru several screen ratios ans sizes, but everytging else is cool ;)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]