Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Source Tree

by MakerArt - Jam Entry

Just for fun!
The music makes it grow and draw!

I made it! There is no win or lose screen.. sory :/

One flash programmer,
Two hour of artist.

Thanks a lot for comments!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#66Audio(Jam)4.00
#78Theme(Jam)4.25
#81Mood(Jam)3.93
#266Overall(Jam)3.59
#304Graphics(Jam)3.81
#308Innovation(Jam)3.42
#455Fun(Jam)3.22
#512Humor(Jam)2.65
#1562Coolness45%

Comments

NirabazGAMES says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:30am

Very well.

disdanes says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:04am

I actually liked this idea a lot. Assuming there was a bit more time to iron it out I feel like it could be an arcade classic! Beat games are fun!

propter_ludus says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:05am

Solid entry.

flwns says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:07am

I enjoyed this game, the controls felt backwards at first but then they began to make sense.

MisterAddy says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:16am

I'm not sure what I just played, but I think I liked it.

pvtroswold says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:17am

Nice! Just wondering... is the music your work as well? Anyway, good job.

Kakureta says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:17am

The sort of "inverted" controls make the game that much harder, don't know if that was intended. Other than that the game is purely simple yet original and I love the audio.
Watch out for typos though :/

MakerArt says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:52am

pvtroswold no, music is not mine)

Leaghorn says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:26am

Very nice. Although the synchro could be better.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:04am

It's a nice entry. Liked the art. Wasn't a fan of the inverted controls, though I adjusted pretty quickly.

MorseAmalgam says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:23am

Don't think I've seen a slow-paced beat game before! As mentioned by others, some work on syncing up the keys with the song would make it feel a little more unified.

One thing that kept messing with me was the fact that the background parallax was implying moving downward, rather than upward.

Shon says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:14pm

Perfect^)

Borodar says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:57pm

Elegant concept with a very personal style.

richardjs says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:10am

Great mood, and cool idea of a tree growing through space to music. It'd be nice if the keys, the tree's growth, and the music were all connected better. (Also, it'd be good to credit the source of the music.)

Unlike some of the others, I didn't have any issues with the controls feeling backwards; they felt completely normal to me.

Astro Cat says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:26am

cool!

rogueNoodle says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:59pm

Really nice visuals. The controls felt backwards to me - that might have been intentional to add difficulty, but for a game without a win/loss condition, the difficulty seems a bit unnecessary.

DrFallos says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:34pm

Music fits perfectly, you did a really nice job!

khofez says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:38pm

Super Awesome!

Anshul Goyal says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:49am

Wonderful soundtrack! I want this as my screensaver.

Ludum34 says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:01pm

Beautiful! Hello from Minsk!

3Dog says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 1:13pm

cool ) look like I'm growing weed with Bob Marley music. :D

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 5:45am

nice calming game - very well done

n8m8 says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 3:05pm

I wrote some mini-reviews for mini ludumdare games! https://goo.gl/l4dkaT
Your game is in this!
I liked the music and the graphics a lot!

Aurel Bílý says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 11:59am

Not bad … Though I really didn't like the music choices for the second and third level :/ … And, even though they were supposed to be higher difficulty, they didn't feel more challenging.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]