Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Paper Tank Arena

by eemmbbeerr - Jam Entry

Made for the theme "Growing".
Scavenge the parts of your fallen enemies to upgrade your tank!

WASD to move, mouse to aim.
Press Q if you are stuck to become invincible for 10 seconds.

Have fun!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness79%
#187Fun(Jam)3.60
#269Graphics(Jam)3.90
#487Overall(Jam)3.35
#532Audio(Jam)2.97
#579Humor(Jam)2.55
#679Mood(Jam)3.00
#768Innovation(Jam)2.74
#966Theme(Jam)2.90

Comments

guru-guru says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:55am

Dark souls of robot fights.

Red says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:08pm

Cool art style and music, had a lot of fun playing this and did a few replays to try out different upgrades.

NoWandStudios says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:53pm

Original art. But it's so hard buddy!

Leuthil says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:00pm

Nice variety of upgrades. I did find the game pretty hard but it's not necessarily a bad thing. Nice entry :)

eemmbbeerr says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:27pm

I must admit, it's hard to get a perspective on how hard the game is when you know how all the mechanics work behind the curtains and playtested your own game for hours on end.
Developer Score: 5674732 points (and 11 bosses)

TomenLuca says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:26pm

Love the drawn art style! The game could use some sound effects for hitting bullets.

Catblocker says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:26pm

Really liked the artwork on this game. Feels unique.
My biggest complaint is the lack of sound (except for the music). For example when you shot or fired rockets.

newbeings says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:27pm

I really like the graphics! Would like to be able to shoot the enemies' missles. Upgrades are cool. Maybe need a little more visual indication of the borders or the arena. Nice work!

AdamAlexander says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:30pm

The art style is awesome!

BeardyBard says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:00pm

I wish all tank were made of paper, man.
Anyway, I think if'll you add massive multiplayer - you'll get some agario, or even higher, level game :)

alpha_rat says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:16pm

The hand drawn graphics are great! The difficulty is crazy also!

adsilcott says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 6:56pm

Cool art style, and a fun little game.

beetracks says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 12:43pm

I missed sound effects and the music doesn't fit. The graphics are cool and the gameplay is hard (and that fits perfectly). I enjoyed the aesthetics.

MercuryXGames says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 12:46pm

very unique artstyle. The soundtrack really gets me in the right robot-killing mood. the bosses and the level system really gives a a joyable gameplay and replayablity, and I love that I get to see my robot-fighter improve over time. All in all, a great game

architect404 says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 12:51pm

at first I immediately died several times, then I noticed the room boundaries (which really could've been clearer) and understood the movement a little better, and started to have a lot of fun! cute art, an odd but enjoyable choice of music and delicious upgrades to choose from. sfx would've been nice and not sure how it fits the themes. I defeated 4 bosses. good work!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 7:14am

that was really fun - and the paper artwork was great - nice job

XenosNS says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 5:51pm

Love paper graphics and piano music. First boss is way too fast for a first boss.

Dec 25, 2015 @ 12:40am

Interesting Boss rush game. Wish there was more sound effects though.

Kaz

gokottastudio says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 9:16am

Hahaha, I am still laughing about the music. I got a feeling of "silent film" while playing it.

I really like these kind of games, but bro, it's so difficult!!!!
Good upgrading system. And again, nice and original art!

seigne_m says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 4:24am

fun game*

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]