Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Ethereal

by PixlWalkr - Compo Entry

Ethereal is a minimalist, ambient game created in 48hrs for Ludum Dare 34 with the theme "Two button controls" and "Growing"

*Click on some of the images above to view the GIF*

------------------------------------------------
Controls:
Left Mouse Button/Left Arrow Key - Turn Left
Right Mouse Button/Right Arrow Key - Turn Right
------------------------------------------------

I think the controls feel nice for mobile devices so I guess I'll add this to my list of games that I might port someday.

Engine: Unity
Arts: Adobe Photoshop and Illustrator
Audio: Magix Music Maker

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#14Mood4.23
#18Audio4.12
#88Graphics4.08
#109Theme4.17
#183Overall3.65
#509Fun3.12
#655Innovation2.85

Comments

sydan says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:27am

So relaxing!! Loved the audio, the only thing I wasn't keen on was the shooting mechanic... it just didn't fit with the peacefulness of the world. I was hoping for something more zen...

klbrazil says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:34am

I like the audio, nice art aesthetics!! 5/5!!

aamatniekss says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:30pm

The art is very pretty, and together with the music, the game is super calming and relaxing. :) Nice!

JaJ says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:02pm

I agree that the shooting didn't really fit with the mood of the game. Other than that it was really soothing and not too hard.

Lancelot Gao says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:03am

Fun game and I love the art.

FiSilva says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:31pm

Really solid game, I love the atmosphere, especially the music. I would prefer if it didn't have the shooting, but awesome anyway

Diel Mormac says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:51am

Relaxing game!
Responsive controls and lovely concept!

Nice work dude!

local minimum says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:53pm

Very nice simple and soothing game. I enjoyed the feeling of floating around the the world. It might have been nice if the targets sent out a long-range ping of sorts to help guiding towards them, but it was easy enough on the levels I played that it wasn't necessary. The ease of flight, I would say almost made me feel like there should have been a negative effect on colliding with any wall, not just the spikes. The shooting seemed a bit wonky right if one got hit first, but that was no big thing. Also the particles kind of felt like they didn't come from the engine of the ship (especially when turning). Besides those small details, it was a very well made and enjoyable game. Great work.

SiENcE says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:47pm

Very nice color palette you have choosen! It looks very smooth and clean.

Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:11pm

Beautiful graphics and music. I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/DppxuiW8XzY

randomhuman says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:00pm

Your Mac build doesn't work with the itch.io app because it is rar'd. Rars are bad for mac software anyway because they lose some of the file permissions and can't launch until you go fiddling around in their internals. You might want to just upload the .app file directly, they are already compressed.

randomhuman says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:17pm

Very pretty, minimalist graphics, and great ambient music to go with them. I like it! I would for sure play a mobile port of this.

OnionBlaze says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:31pm

Loved the atmosphere. It was quite fun doing some "zen drifting" while trying to dodge those bullets, hahah. Great job with this. :)

Xanjos says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 6:43pm

Pacing is pretty slow (The game maps seem a bit too large) but I like the ambient design approach that you were going for.

VitasaMode says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 5:56pm

Such a soothing entry. This is one of my favorite entries. There's so much I love about this game I had to make a list:
-Design
-Aesthetic
-Audio
-Mood
-Pacing
-Mechanic

Thanks again for also sharing your source code I could learn so much from this since I am learning Unity as well. Truly inspiring especially since it was a compo!

pixelpotions says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 3:00pm

Awesome graphics and sound! There was a little discord between the mood and the gameplay (relaxing vs shooting) but nonetheless a great entry!

tribrain says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 6:07pm

Nice game!, so relaxing, i enjoyed the graphics!... the controls are great, keep it simple, well done

Geckoo1337 says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 2:30pm

Great with a pleasant mood. However it could be improved by another gameplay - something more frenetic with bounds. The aesthetic and the music are polished. Thumbs up ++

ac7 says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 1:49am

Cool game. I think the player "ship" moves too slow and therefore the movement is too easy, but the atmosphere of the game is very nice anyway.

DecayConstant says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 2:27am

Very clean graphics and nice audio (though the song seemed a bit melancholy).
Backtracking to find the shards was sometimes a bit tedious; maybe you could add a sprint mechanic by holding both buttons?

GhostBomb says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 2:55am

Love the artstyle and music.

It would be nice if you could maybe hold both buttons to make the character go faster.

themadknights says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 11:30am

Nice level design. The mood is strong in this one, graphics are simple but beautiful and in general an awesome game despite the simple mechanic

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]