Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Sadu - Clown For Hire

by hoqjed - Jam Entry

Help this poor clown inject some fun into his soul by blowing some balloons...oh wait, he's still sad :(

Created by:
- Justin Luk: Environment art, Programming (@madcapacity)
- Ryan Dallaire: Programming (@jumboorange)
- Russ Dawson: Audio (@EvilObjective)
- Farhan Qureshi: Character art / animation (@jedlondo)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#25Humor(Jam)4.16
#71Theme(Jam)4.26
#161Audio(Jam)3.68
#292Graphics(Jam)3.84
#385Mood(Jam)3.37
#414Overall(Jam)3.42
#428Innovation(Jam)3.26
#602Fun(Jam)3.05
#1888Coolness35%

Comments

vividhelix says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:56am

10/10 would blow again.

Elenesski says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:44am

It's so hard to hit the right keys when you are laughing so hard; and like there is two and their right next to each other, and I still couldn't hit them. Loved the game. Good use of both themes. Well done. Calgary Game Developers ROCK!

savethejets1 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:42pm

5/5 You blew this one out of the water...

local306 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:48pm

I hope the kids don't mind that I filled their balloons with my smoker's cough...

Dooskington says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:37pm

Funny concept! I loved the animations

Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:40pm

That was awesome. You REALLY shouldve implemented audio though.. that would've made the game 12/10.

kebabskal says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:45pm

I don't get it.

hoqjed says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:45pm

@PlasterPhantom There actually is audio. Which build did you play?

fullmontis says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:54pm

This is quite unique in its own mood. Really enjoyed it. Gameplay could be improved upon though.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:27am

Nice work on incorporating both themes. Reminds me of Krusty, especially in his sigh when he pops a balloon. Love the music.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:36pm

Audio absolutely sells this game from the pathetic sounds of the clown to the background murmur of the partygoers who are clearly ignoring the clown. Balloon blowing gets a bit glitchy if you spam the blow key. Sad clowns are funny.

broknecho says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:34am

Haha very moody and character development is pretty amazing. Animation was great. Gameplay is a little lacking but still a funny entry!

Nice work!

kezhaar says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 2:21pm

Awesomely depressing ! Good work XD

rjhelms says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 11:19pm

That poor, poor clown. This is an awesome take on the theme, and good fun to boot.

It looks like there's a bug (at least in the Windows build) with restarting after game over - it didn't reset my score, and things seemed to freeze up after popping my first balloon on the second playthough. No biggie as quitting and relaunching is easy.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]