Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Honker's Wrist Wrasslin World Tour

by denycetm - Jam Entry

Welcome to the international wrist wrestling championships. Fight your way across 3 continents to become the ultimate wrist wrestling champion.

Alternate between z and x to beat your opponent. Be careful you don't over exert yourself in the process.
All feedback is welcome and appreciated.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#287Humor(Jam)3.08
#672Audio(Jam)2.41
#823Mood(Jam)2.73
#863Innovation(Jam)2.59
#895Theme(Jam)3.10
#928Graphics(Jam)2.43
#966Fun(Jam)2.52
#1029Overall(Jam)2.62

Comments

ChiPassGames says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:50pm

Love the world tour bit. Obviously there is only so much to a button masher, but overall the packaging was pleasing. On the actual game screen, some sort of pacing graphic to give feedback on if speed or rhythm is called for would have made a better experience. Good entry.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:54pm

I can honestly say that I haven't arm wrestled with my computer before this.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:03pm

Interesting concept, I was surprised at how short it was however the retro-CDR-type menu made up for it. It would be cool if there was more to it than just mashing buttons, for example you have to use the buttons to dodge projectiles like flying plates or something like that whilst still trying to beat the opponent, then you could try and force the opponent's arm into the obstacles to weaken them, etc

uthamon says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:34pm

This game is rough in a good way. These arms sprites, catchy music, making the arms green and red, canmerica - all of this made the game interesting.

flwns says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:09pm

I really enjoyed this, it had certain charm to it. Also, i found that if you alternate z and x to the rhythm of the bass line you would win every time no problem.

tantumgames says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:33pm

This is the best sports game I've ever seen.

Auroz says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:14pm

Interesting idea but the game had no real challenge and got repetitive quickly. The window was also slightly too large to fit on my monitor properly (1920x1080).

themadknights says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:40am

I'll keep training, I wanna be the very best, like no one ever ... wait... interesting concept. Maybe it needs to be a bit harder, I like to destroy my keyboard in this kind of games.

Blobo says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:57pm

Pretty neat entry. i find it funny how the guy in brazil looks radioactive.

AlfaTrion says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 5:27am

I had another great time working on this game. Thanks for having me!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]