Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Gyra

by Jishenaz - Jam Entry

Gyra is a game about defending your energy core from enemies.

Press Up (or W) to grow the core. The core spins faster if you grow it more, but also makes it more vulnerable to enemies. More points are awarded if the core is larger.

Press Down (or S) to shrink the core.

Press Escape to go back or quit the game.

------------------------
The web version was exported with Unity 5.2 HTML5 exporter. If something isn't working there, I highly recommend that you try out a desktop version of the game.

------------------------
Made by Jishenaz
Twitter: @Jishenaz

Using font "desonanz" by Aleksandar Nikov
https://www.behance.net/gallery/22837299/desonanz-free-font

Using music "Start To Grow (cdk Mix)" by cdk (C) 2013
Licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution (3.0) license
http://ccmixter.org/files/cdk/43815

------------------------
Please tell me what you think :)

Source code at:
https://github.com/JISyed/GyraTheGame
------------------------

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness72%
#87Theme(Jam)4.21
#110Innovation(Jam)3.77
#231Overall(Jam)3.63
#411Mood(Jam)3.33
#421Fun(Jam)3.26
#603Graphics(Jam)3.28

Comments

Nega Drive says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:20am

Very cool, love the polished presentation and the risk/reward style of the gameplay. Simple but effective.

Dokthar says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:55pm

nice

jdoughty says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:56pm

Liked the simple gameplay. The music and visuals tied together very nicely! I didn't feel like I found the 'fun' per say, but I think it scratched the 'If i keep playing this I'll get better' itch that makes me want to keep on playing.

agilejoshua says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:57pm

Simple design that works - nice.

bazkur98 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:00pm

Hey, not bad. Very simple but good.

pjimmy says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:02pm

awesome, clever use of physics, fun and creative, good job :)

Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:05pm

Had a bit of trouble figuring out how enemies react to the size of the core. But otherwise I like the concept.

CaptainRed_ says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:08pm

very cool game, looks very nice

local306 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:09pm

What a neat idea! I found you could get pretty far just leaving the scale at max AKA max rotational speed. With a bit of logic, you could have the AI out smart that tactic. Pretty impressive nonetheless

Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:15pm

Awesome! Imagos's own Vanessa has taken to calling this "the birth control game" while Imagos's own Don has invented the term "scrabbin' points" to describe the act of getting points by evading the daggar triangles of doom.

Awesome entry, and awesome use of the two button theme!

Also, wicked music!

Zulgot says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:45pm

Wow simple but very fun game :)

uthamon says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:48pm

Nice and original use of the theme.

Kuality Games says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:16pm

I really like the font and artstyle you're using, looks polished and it's fun to play.

Kakureta says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:36pm

Creative and simple, yet still a solid entry. Nice job

Sink says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:09pm

Interesting gameplay premise! I had a nice time with it and think this was a cool and unique idea

Coomzy says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:29pm

Cool game, but I didn't really feel like there was much I could actually do to stop them, because by the time I could see them, it was too late.

Flygamer101 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 2:43pm

Very nice simple game. Polished as well. Also, I liked the graphics style.

TheMeorch says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 4:46am

This is absolutely fantastic. One of the best game's I've played this jam. You've got a unique, simple mechanic that has a surprising amount of depth -- changing size to dodge enemies, trading greater spin speed at the risk of having an enemy touch your larger size, timing the spinning to hit enemies. Really awesome, with an impressive degree of mastery possible.

I hope you keep working on this -- maybe adding new enemies, ways to regain health, etc. Great job!

Stending says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 12:11am

A nice game ! Not as easy as it looks !

terry90 says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 10:22am

Fun little game. Super simple but fun

Kerdelos says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 4:27pm

The graphics are simple but neat and the idea is cool and the game respond well. But I feel the game is a bit too random and that since i can't predict the ennemies trajectory, it's a bit hard to adapt my size.

dregamr says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 11:17am

Very interesting game. Nice job!

Jan 2, 2016 @ 11:54pm

Very fun, I had a great time trying to beat my high score which is a great hook. Found it a nice simple little game to play! Great stuff!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]