Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Growing In The Ground

by JALgames - Jam Entry

The robot fell into a cave and woke up a monster. That monster now is growing very fast so the robot has to escape from the cave.

This game is admittedly very unfinished and everything took a lotlonger than expected. So when you fall out of the second level, you have won, although it does not look like it...

F5 to toggle fullscreen, the rest is in explained in the game.

Credits:
Programming: Johannes Lehmann
Art: Adrian Felber, Stefan Scheunemann and Steffen Kahl

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#639Graphics(Jam)3.20
#788Overall(Jam)3.00
#839Fun(Jam)2.73
#2001Coolness30%

Comments

Chewie says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:06pm

I like the idea about running from growing monster thing.
But should say that it was hard to distinguish level elements, most visible was background walls due to lights and bumps on it and floor and other important bits was not so visible. I was trying to ran from monster by jumping inside first pit, I thought that it was the way =D

benjaml says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:53am

Cool game, unfortunately I don't have skill at this time. I really liked the effect when you fall from a high platform :3

NoOneJeremy says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:05am

It has some nice effects and a running from the monster really gives a thrill, but the gameplay itself isn't really interesting. Keep up the good work, tho!

jcwelgemoed says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:48am

Liked the light effect - that has lots of potential. Needs a bit more gameplay though

Astro Cat says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:14pm

nice job guys!

Simplest says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:43pm

Nice entry! Love the atmosphere that you've created :-D

monetai says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:43pm

i crashed when i tryed to launch it, unfortunately

Gipzo says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 2:44pm

A bit wierd graphics - too much normalmap lighting )
Level design is pretty good.

scorched says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 3:31pm

Not bad, but background is really annoying, and I don't always understand why I died - respawn is too fast.

local minimum says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 2:49pm

I got to the second level but then got a bit bugged by the narrow platforms in combination with the floaty jumps. I would suggest you increase the gravity to make it easier/more "normal" jumping behavior. The first level had quite nice design, I would kind of have liked some "Follow the lights" instructions because before I figured that out there were a lot of jumps that needed to be done in blind faith. Good start for a game though.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]