Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Shipload

by TiByte - Jam Entry

Welcome to Shipload,

you must not cause a mess or mishap.
this game contains:
two buttons, A and D, to add or remove containers from a ship.
while the speed of the incoming ships grows, you have to fill them up to the right amount of cargo.

This game was made in HTML5/Javascript with Pixi.js and Howler.js, more about that on our GitHub page. We hope you enjoy our game.


Shameless Plug:
have a look at http://rateld.de enter a room name of your choice and start rating ld games together in a team.

The MacOSX Download is a ".rar" archive, because I really struggled with uploading the ".app" to a server so that a client Mac would still accept the file. If anyone has any input on how to do that better, you're welcome to tell me.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#265Theme(Jam)3.96
#355Fun(Jam)3.36
#444Innovation(Jam)3.24
#475Overall(Jam)3.36
#492Audio(Jam)3.05
#647Mood(Jam)3.05
#723Graphics(Jam)3.04
#770Humor(Jam)2.12
#1468Coolness47%

Comments

peterthehe says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:56pm

A shipload of fun! :P

Indie L says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:00pm

I liked a lot...Simple and funny.Nice work!

epicTCK says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:57pm

36 ships is my high score... great game!

Optimus6128 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:45pm

Hehe, simple and fun to play!

publicidadeba says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:53pm

Cooleo, I see this making into mobile easily. My wife would have a great time with it. I just felt it was a bit too zoomed-in.

LeReveur says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:00pm

It would be funnier if it was a little bit more speeded, thankfully, the joyful music prevented me to fall asleep on my keyboard, so I can enjoy the pretty drawings. :P

loxo says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:26pm

Nice game with an interesting concept. It gets challenging very fast, especially with 12 containers. I missed sometimes the switch to a new number of containers, so maybe this could be done more prominently.

doitle says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 6:07pm

Very simple game that's made challenging by the speed. Good use of two button controls. It seemed like there would be a leaderboard somewhere but I didn't see it. Is there one?

TiByte says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 6:11pm

@doltle, we're working on one, we're collecting the data already, but we haven't found the time yet to implement a nice looking leaderboard in the game.

NirabazGAMES says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 6:35pm

Nice little mathematical game with pretty graphic!

scorched says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 8:53pm

I must admit I'm not very fast at counting, but the game is nonetheless elegant!

psychonull says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 11:09pm

Fun game! At first I didn't realize the number of containers that the ship should carry changes when progressing, but once I realized it I had fun

Nega Drive says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 7:33pm

I actually really like this. Very simple, but the ever increasing speed and keeping up with counting the trailers and keeping up with the correct amount is really fun. I liked that the music gets faster and faster too. I think it needs more indication of which stack on the ship is the 'current' one, more than just the crane position, like an arrow or something. Just to make things a bit easier to track.

Jan 4, 2016 @ 11:20pm

Nice game, and maybe good for teaching children to calculate. I got to 100+ containers, and was a little disappointed that there was still no "story".

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]