Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Hanabi

by LittleThor - Compo Entry

Draw shapes in the sky to make beautiful fireworks! But do it quick!

Instructions:
Mouse only. Click on circles and draw them following the dotted lines!

Theme:
I chose the "growing" theme for this compo entry. And I must admit I don't really fit it. Fireworks? Yes! Growing like flowers is the sky! ;)
My goal was only to make an interesting game and spend good time doing it. Goal reached!

Notes:
Source files will come on next few days: too tired to wait files to upload (it's 3AM here!)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#188Graphics3.73
#241Audio3.17
#264Innovation3.51
#290Mood3.26
#491Overall3.22
#663Humor1.86
#686Fun2.86
#887Theme2.92

Comments

sydan says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:16am

On the WebGL one I get unknown compress method as an error...

Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:41am

Can't play the WebGL ver. Sorry!
Error: (GET http://florent-martinais.com/Hanabi/WebGL/Release/WebGL.js 404 (Not Found))

sharpfrog4 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:53am

Not really sure what I'm supposed to do, but it's very pretty

Elenesski says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:54pm

On the WebGL one I get unknown compress method as an error... but the WEB version seemed to work fine.

Wasn't sure where the game was, I could drag the mouse over the scene, but couldn't interact with it.

LittleThor says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:40pm

The WebGL version is fixed!

I wish I had more time to work on a tutorial, it's very sad to see people that don't understand :( sorry guys!
The gameplay is very easy: just click on circles in the sky. While clicking, draw the shapes following dotted circle.

Anshul Goyal says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:23pm

Interesting. That was different. Definitely a game for touch based devices.

LittleThor says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:05pm

@Anshul : Thank you! This game was indeed meant to be exported on android, but you know, I didn't really had the time to deal with mobile platform issues in addition of other platforms :s

@Everyone: the WebGL issue is not fixed after all. As the problem seems to be linked with the last version of Unity, I think I will not be able to fix it.

Ayaya33 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:37pm

I think this would be a great game on Android/iOS, but on Windows I just couldn't get the controls to work.

They worked sometimes but not others. Maybe I don't have a steady enough hand...

Leaghorn says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:44pm

Nice idea but the controls are either very unacurate or I dont know what exactly I have to do. It's very hard to make the explosion.

Chubb1337 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:30pm

Nice game, original, but it has got some issues with detecting the circles. I am for 100% sure I've drawn my circles correctly, but it still doesn't turn into fireworks sometimes.

Also, the particles created by the fireworks could use some work ;)

justinooncx says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:30pm

Really difficult to draw circles with a mouse...

Garris says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:06am

This game confused me somewhat. I wasn't really sure that what I was doing was working, or that it was what I was supposed to be doing at all. I got 900 points, though I'm not entirely sure what I did to earn them. But it was very pretty, and an interesting idea!

Andrei says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:48am

Cool game! Interesting approach on theme.
Well executed mechanic. But I think it should be more clear when we miss the circle.

Modoc73 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:59am

I liked the trail for the cursor. Good job.

Andrew Deem says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:09am

Okay, this one might be my favorite so far. It's so chill and calm and has a great atmosphere, audio, and graphics. And it's a compo game?! Seriously, good freakin' work here. I love this.

Pietdagamer says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:27am

Quite hard, but a really cool concept and very well executed!

Khallane says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:08am

Interesting idea, a bit hard sometimes though

deadpixl says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:51pm

Cool idea, I wasn't sure if I was doing it correctly. I tried to follow the dotted lines but didn't get anything that resembled screenshots.

Geckoo1337 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:14pm

Not really sure what I'm supposed to do, but it's very pretty. Nice background ++

Quique says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:22pm

I love the idea but a little hard sometimes

Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:14am

Very innovative idea i give you that looks really pleasing to me :)
Good Work kudos

fluidvolt says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 1:47am

Relaxing... I couldn't get a single firework at first, until I slowed down my drawing. With some chilled-out music this would be even better. Good job.

Dec 21, 2015 @ 9:55pm

I think this game might be more enjoyable with a touchscreen. Nice polished game. A bit of music would be nice.

EvanEGibbs says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 8:16am

I enjoyed this a lot! The look and especially the sound of the fireworks was very cool. The game was very therapeutic and I could see it going with some ambient music. 2300 people enjoyed the fireworks! So I feel pretty good about that. :) Nice job!

Tapehead says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 1:20pm

nice entry! as soon it's running well then it's very satisfying :) well done!

Molpe says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 10:14pm

Great idea and it looks really nice.

I've made a short let's play video if you want to check it out x)
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sEqcl9WtswM

local minimum says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 2:40pm

It really looks stunning and I liked the atmospheric sounds, however I tried a full game and half without managing to make a single firework explode. So I think that there's a desperate need to either make the game more forgiving/increase tolerance, include visual instructions on how to do it, and/or have dynamic feed-back while playing showing when you are on the right track and when you fail.

LittleThor says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 8:49am

Thank you everyone for your comments!
I know there is a lot of issues with feedbacks, and I think this is this particular point that make the game hard to play (this, and the mouse instead of a touch screen).
For instance, when you miss to draw a circle, the trail renderer continues: it's not obvious that you missed.

Once again, thanks to all of you. I'm really glad a lot of people enjoyed my game, even with its imperfections.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]