Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Tiny Chase DJ

by Alloyed - Compo Entry

An endless avoid-em-up in the vein of Super Hexagon or countless mobile games.

Play as CUBE, being _Chased_ by a scary octopus _DJ_ (offscreen) through an environment he finds increasingly _Tiny_.

Since this was my first LD I decided to err on the side of caution and make a game with a scope as small as possible. I got done with the core mechanics pretty early so I spent the last day and a half or so on polish and juice.

MacOS/Linux users should get a copy of LOVE 0.9.2 https://love2d.org/ to play this game.

level designs made in Aseprite http://www.aseprite.org/
font is ProggyTiny from http://www.proggyfonts.net/
music made in http://renoise.com/
name from http://videogamena.me/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#67Audio3.82
#261Graphics3.53
#400Fun3.26
#430Overall3.30
#1857Coolness36%

Comments

velddev says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:26am

I love it. It's so simple and easily readable. the only real problem for me is

It's hard to get in lane. Maybe it's part of the challenge but it feels near impossible to get it right.

Reggianito says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:09pm

This one's pretty fun. It's probably not the most original way to use the theme(s) in a game, but it manages to sound good and look badass while doing so.

vrld says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:36pm

Good mechanic, very polished, catchy music. Unfortunately, the controls are a bit too unforgiving for my taste. It is almost impossible to properly position yourself on a lane to fit through a tight passage. I think the game could work much better if the player would automatically lock onto the nearest lane. Otherwise a very solid entry.

josefnpat says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:29am

Nice job! It's got a solid feel and mechanics!

RainFrogs says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:50am

Music and visuals are well done and polished - I agree with vrld and think it might be better if it were lane based. Also I'm not entirely sure what the Left + Right shrinking mechanic accomplished.

Ayaya33 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:42pm

Great game. This is the kind of thing I can imagine being very popular on mobile, you should release it there after Ludum Dare!

Android:
Missing some options (the h and b options), Highscore is broken

Windows:
Found a glitch where you can "lock" into a lane that is off the screen. This meant I could just pass everything. I can't replicate it though, so I think it was just perfect timing with pressing l+r and making the screen shake from hitting the side.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:25pm

It's a little plain, but understandable for your first entry into Ludum Dare. There is a nice level of polish on here, but I don't personally find the actual gameplay underneath to be terribly unique or interesting. It seems like you have what it takes to come back to the next Ludum Dare and make something really special, though, if you're willing to give it a shot!

zebi24 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:27pm

Made it to 100! :D
Really addictive, well built and polished game.

Os_Reboot says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:30pm

Game has a nice aesthetic. Good work with particles and animations. The music meshes nicely with the simplistic gameplay. Solid entry overall. Congrats!

Jacktheviper says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:15pm

The presentation is really good, the visuals fit together, the music and gameplay speed complement each other nicely.

The controls are very difficult and somewhat float because the player can't really align with a lane, if you made the cube lock itself into the lane it moves to, it would feel much better.

The game could have a better pacing as well, most of the time difficult starts already at a high level and the player will certainly fail a few times before he can get used to the controls and this feels a bit unfair.

Adam Gould says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 7:40pm

I was reminded of Super Hexagon. I liked the music and the retro art style. Very polished!

Dmitrix says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 8:03pm

Looks and sounds really good.

Tosic says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 6:40pm

Amazing! Kinda hard (to start) on android, but I liked it a lot :)

Jan 2, 2016 @ 9:17pm

The music is cool!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]