Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Two Jump

by BloodJohn - Compo Entry

The deer gazed at the city lights and fell down. Now he would have to come to Santa in his sleigh.

Use right and left arrows to jump. Be careful! Xmas boxes are very slippery. This explains why deer in skates.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness60%
#279Humor2.81
#289Graphics3.47
#534Theme3.67
#591Audio2.36
#618Mood2.78
#820Fun2.60
#891Innovation2.24
#898Overall2.60

Comments

emmes says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:58am

Only one level? Sigh.
Nice graphics, though

BloodJohn says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:08am

Thanks! Just a little Christmas story. Closer to the new year I plan to do a couple of levels. I really hope that I can do the levels quite easy to pass.

Gemberkoekje says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:06pm

Hi, I'm updating my Unity now to get that WebGL version of my game going, so check it out tomorrow or so!

I've played your game, the controls were a bit confusing at first, but the ending is cute!

qkerguelen says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:10pm

It was hard ! But really fun :D

Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:47pm

Haha first I thought it was harder than getting a rocket to Mars, but then pressing both keys at once sent me straight to the creepy old guy :)

BloodJohn says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:04pm

wow!

OwT says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:56am

The idea is really cool, but I expected more levels, not only one... Because it's hard to only jump in this game and this makes a lot of fun to me, but it ended so quickly :c Graphics is just sweet, but you have had a lot of time to make an animations and stuff, with only one level you could made this game more detailed!

qwetro says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:09am

I like the sound when the deer jumps.

Dec 22, 2015 @ 10:51am

Very cute, and VERY tricky, super charming and apt for the time of year, nice LD even if there's only one level :)

CheesyRamen says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 5:33pm

Haha, even though it was hard, I had a really fun time trying to get to Santa! :)

Justin Mullin says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 6:00pm

I really love the physics in this! I'd love to see more levels, as this one was very short. Also, if you press both jump buttons quickly you can do a single super jump. Here's a GIF of a one-jump win. =) http://imgur.com/fUJJrVO

Frenchie says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 9:14pm

Tried to play the web version and got server not found :(

BloodJohn says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 7:44am

thank you for telling me. I will deal with the hosting

BloodJohn says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 9:21am

fixed

Xanjos says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 4:56pm

Jump physics were a bit weird and it might be better if the deer didn't rotate every time it moved but I liked the art style.

flakoflak says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 6:04am

soo hard in the beginning... nice graphics.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]