Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Two Button Controls

by Simplest - Jam Entry

Hello Everyone!!

Games should be simple! Thats why I always fix some additional rules to get enough time to publish my LudumDare games on Time! (simple graphics, black and white, no menus etc).

In this case I wanted to use the two button controls in some weird way:
- Buttons can be black
- Buttons can be white
"Two button Controls the completion of the game" So throw the ball and switch all buttons to white to complete all the levels!!"

Tech:
- Unity Personal Edition
- Inkscape
- Studio One Pro

Enough simple means enough time for level design! Hope you like my little game and thanks for playing to everyone!!

:3

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness56%
#141Fun(Jam)3.68
#306Overall(Jam)3.54
#405Innovation(Jam)3.29
#481Audio(Jam)3.08
#584Mood(Jam)3.13
#723Graphics(Jam)3.04
#755Humor(Jam)2.15
#955Theme(Jam)2.93

Comments

Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:45pm

simple but pretty fun

Polith Games says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:16pm

Nice! =)

Simplest says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:42pm

Thanks man! I tried to create a simple gameplay so I have time to make lots of levels :D

makiki99 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:45pm

Fun simple game, with an interesting approach to the theme. I like it.

Yvanor says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:57pm

Really simple, but clever and quite fun game. Basic graphics, but with some nice effects, I liked it, thanks ^^

Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:13pm

Polished, fun and level 11 was a bitch, good entry!

Yazara says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:16pm

Very aesthetic game, and great gameplay :) The controls work really well.
The connection to the theme fells a bit far fetched though :P

tesnos says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:42pm

If this were a real game for a dollar and more levels, I would buy it

Os_Reboot says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:00pm

Played on a Galaxy S5. Solid graphics, smooth awesthetic, awesome sound. Everything fits together nicely. Great entry.

Simonaiso says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:07pm

Great game! wanted to keep playing. Nice how you made a physics engine and some blocks into a challenging little game. The difficulty rate of levels is not logical maybe, but I liked the fact that could still steer my ball in-flight.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:15pm

Nice, well presented game. The controls are floaty though, sometimes the ball seems to react and sometimes not. I got stuck at level 15 (16?) where the difficulty increases steeply.

niccholaspage says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:21pm

Very simple game but it was lots of fun!

psypol says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:47pm

Nice. i see we used the same simplicity approach here !
http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-34/?action=preview&uid=7155

i just dont understood what is the rule and moments when player can get control again over the sphere. is it when speed is < a certain value ? maybe you should change the sphere color/aspect to reflect when player has control over it or not.

cheers

mard says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:42pm

Simple but fun - it's a great mobile game

Xgor says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 2:10pm

Nice relaxing game. One thing though.. why can you move the ball after you threw it. It removes a lot of depth from the game.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]