Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Twin Condition

by jackrugile - Jam Entry

Twin Condition is a reflex/coordination game where you must controls two characters at once. Try to survive until all the blocks have been placed. Avoid the falling blocks on the left side while simultaneously shooting the enemies on the right side.

Controls:
---
- [A / Left Arrow / Left Click] to cycle levels and control left side
- [D / Right Arrow / Right Click] to select level and control right side
- [M] to mute sound and music

Objectives:
---
- Avoid blocks on the left
- Shoot enemies on the right
- Survive until all blocks are placed

Notes:
---
- Works best in Chrome (better performance and graphic enhancements)
- Tested in Mac Chrome, Firefox, and Safari

Dev Tech:
---
- HTML5/JavaScript
- Canvas Query
- Playground.js
- Sublime Text
- Photoshop
- FL Studio
- Bfxr
- Google Chrome

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness82%
#17Innovation(Jam)4.19
#23Overall(Jam)4.21
#25Fun(Jam)4.08
#27Audio(Jam)4.19
#31Graphics(Jam)4.62
#51Theme(Jam)4.30
#54Mood(Jam)4.09

Comments

misteak says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:58am

wow, one of the coolest games I've played today. simple yet interesting mechanic, with nicely polished graphics.

great job!

Ben Allen says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:04am

Excellent game. Outstanding job on all fronts, not much else to say.

goost says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:04am

Stunning and innovative gameplay wise, great!

JordanTalley says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:10am

Im surprised just how good you were able to get this game look! Good job!

Farelle says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:12am

can definitely say I like this one :D you did well transferring the theme also :o

Janek says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:30am

I love it. Beautiful graphics and fun gameplay.
Well done!

disdanes says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:00am

This was fun and your graphics were very clean and sleek, the split mechanic was interesting.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:21am

Your game is beautiful, but I had a hard time figuring out how to select a level initially.

hexagore says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:51am

Well I've given this 5 stars for everything. This is by far the best, most polished, prettiest and coolest game I've played so far.

MisterMortal says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:50pm

Holy cow, it looks amazing, is hella difficult and implements two button controls like a boss. Freaking amazing, good job man!

Riftpoint says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:41pm

The mood and the art of this game is really impressive! Good job

maunovaha says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:53pm

Cool game.. at first it was hard to play, then I realized that I could just look left part of the screen and continuously tap right arrow so it killed all enemies which came from there. :B

ruerob says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:26pm

Superfantastic in every way!

Jishenaz says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:54am

Really great game! Really tests those multitasking skills XD

I got used to the controls quickly, but I had a much better time playing with two hands (one for each button) then with two fingers from the same hand. It may be because my brain thinks that "one hand must do one task", instead of giving each finger a role.

Anyway, awesome work!

LxStudio says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:40am

Simple yet stunning art style. Plays very well. Really enjoyed it.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:11am

Very cool mechanic and excellent use of two-button-control theme, very polished, awesome look. Ace work!!

ohmaigawd says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:54pm

Very nice! Its a little bit hard to play but graphics/audio are amazing!

suppi says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:33pm

very polished game. it was challenging and fun. was a little disappointed when i finished the game and didn't see an ending screen or something :(

great job!

csanyk says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:41am

Pretty cool concept. I figured out an easy strategy: Ignore the right side, and just press D in a steady rhythm to shoot all the targets, while putting full attention on the left side, moving only when necessary, and only when the horizontal way is clear. Once I discovered this, it was trivially easy to beat the first four levels, at which point I quit playing.

DrFallos says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:47am

It was hard to watch on two objects one time. But i tried. Cool graphics and realization of theme. Nice work!

Webravenz says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:30pm

Beautiful game great hob :)

01010111 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 2:30am

Insanely beautiful presentation! I really wish there was a way to move in both directions, but you were really stuck with the theme. Maybe if the mouse's x position was mapped to both screens and clicking would move the designated player like you already have it? I dunno! Great work!

gokottastudio says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 7:55pm

I love the look and atmosphere. Great job.

Tselmek says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 11:56am

Wow, just wow. The graphics are splendid, the gameplay is really smooth, nice calming mood. Awesome take on the theme. Nothing else to say, this entry is perfect.

narve says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 6:53pm

This game was awesome. For a 48-hour compo game, it felt incredibly well-polished. It had a nice difficulty curve - it started easy and ended hard, with no sudden jumps in between.

AndreasL says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 12:06pm

Yes! I beat it!
This game was really good, but really tough. I had to think of different ways of multitasking differently. Sometimes I focused on the left, sometimes on the right. I even tried focusing in the middle of the screen to see both sides!


I would have loved to see and endless mode where you just survive as long as possible while the game keeps speeding up. But these levels were also really fun ti play through. Awesome presentation audio and graphically. Great job!

sputnik says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 3:04pm

Very good entry here! nice visual.

Zyow says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 6:41pm

Wow! Sound, graphics, gameplay, it's really good! Great Job!

Ithildin says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 3:12pm

Great entry. I love the graphic style and colour choice, and audio contributes a lot to create a soothing mood. Gameplay is also really polished, and it fits the theme perfectly. Awesome job! :D

Stending says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 9:09pm

Wow, you made something wonderful this time Jack ._.
Really, you got a perfect score from me!

Eduardo says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 2:12pm

My mind is kinda messed up haha, i think that's fun. I always like the things you draw using the 2d canvas api.

Jan 2, 2016 @ 11:37pm

Man, that messed with my mind but in a totally good way! I loved the graphics and the gameplay was really mind melting. Utterly loved it, one of my favourites!

Larzan says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 6:44pm

Wow, beautiful, very polished. could do with a bit more gameplay progression, but that should be an easy addition, very nice!

Jan 4, 2016 @ 12:12am

Cool concept cool graphics hard to master!

qkerguelen says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 12:26am

Simply awesome! Exactly what I want to play when I play jam games, simple, fun, beautiful!

TRAB says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 3:53am

Insanely good game design here. Beautifully difficult.

WolfkingW says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 5:09am

Wow, this game looks and feels really, really polished. The art looks smooth and professional, and the mechanic itself is simple and well-executed. Nice work!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]