Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

this is the game

by Steve | tacospice - Compo Entry

I'm not even gonna try defending this
just have a look

requires a mouse and keyboard

hint: there are 6 screens in the game plus the menu
don't give up!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#8Humor4.18
#25Audio4.04
#25Mood4.15
#87Overall3.86
#161Innovation3.71
#234Fun3.50
#297Graphics3.46
#311Theme3.93

Comments

zenchaplays says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:49am

I couldnt seem to progress past the computer. There was nothing to be done although I see more happening in the screenshots. Perhaps I missed something... but spent a good 10 minutes clicking around. Presentation was nice though and cool track.

Guard13007 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:42am

Oh my God that's hilarious! I love it!

(Is there some secret or anything? I mean, all I did was delete everything..and BSOD.)

Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:09am

mood was top-notch! really love the vibe. kudos <3.

Interface says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:10pm

Of course I pressed 'J' at the end! Good stuff. No idea how I killed the mouse eventually, but I did.

pta2002 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:22pm

LOVE IT! You really did well here :D

Tijn says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:47pm

This game is like Alice in Wonderland, going down the rabbit hole to see how deep it goes. Haha, great stuff. I had no idea what this is about, but I don't think you know more than me :P

It looks and sounds great by the way. All in all, very enjoyable!

fluidvolt says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:23am

Um, whoa. I love this so much. One of the best I've played so far -- I was smiling all the way to the end. This is what I'm talking about: grooving jazz bass... untold secrets... a feeling of deep remorse for a cactus. Good times :). I'm holding on to this game to play again!

ashdnazg says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:08am

Just from starting and staring at the menu you're starting to realise this isn't your run-of-the-mill game :)

Music fit the game like a glove!

The first take on Two button controls felt slightly unnecessary, but other than that the nonsensical narrative was great.

Good job!

rxi says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:46pm

There is a fifth dimension beyond that which is known to man. It is a dimension as vast as space and as timeless as infinity. It is the middle ground between light and shadow, between science and superstition, and it lies between the pit of man's fears and the summit of his knowledge. This is the dimension of imagination. It is an area which we call the Twilight Zone.

Robber says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:45am

surprising and original every step of the way

rnlf says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 1:56pm

This is hilarious. Very trippy, crazy stuff :-)

Took me a while to find out what to do with the mouse, but boy did I show her!

The first 5/5 humor this LD for me :-)

Also, sweet music!

rjhelms says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:47pm

Well that certainly was insane.

Blobo says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:50pm

that was interesting. i found it to be quite hilarious too. poor cactus. what did i do.

Gipzo says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 2:53pm

Awesome entry )

Jwatt says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 4:05pm

This had tons of style. A puzzle game that's actually a puzzle, not just an exercise in repeating a bunch of rules.

4 stars gj (5 for everyone's favorite category, Mood)

Knowledge says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 7:46pm

Normal canvas format is not supported by my OpenGL implementation. Sorry, I have very old computer!

Dec 22, 2015 @ 1:16am

A different and unique entry (in a good way). A ton of fun to have absolutely no chance of knowing what is going to happen next, enjoyed this entry a ton! It looks, sound and feels very good for the limited time frame of compo!

Great job! :)

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 7:41am

humor and mood were over the top - really nice idea of using the theme here and i loved all the mini games - great work

scorched says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 5:27pm

Hahaha, poor cactus ;D

euske says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 2:55pm

why did you do this to me

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]