Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

INFERNO

by Lukbebalduke - Compo Entry

[UPDATE NOTE]------------------------------------------

THE new link has a game just a bit FASTer, just it.
You can still play the old version!
The new version is a little bit hard!

[PLAYING]-----------------------------------------

Slice and break your enemies, and the EVIL itself!
Use just 2 buttons to do it!
I would like if you could play at least 3 (of 5) levels to rate the game =)


I hope you enjoy it! Comment what you think about the game =)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness70%
#31Graphics4.38
#49Mood3.93
#77Overall3.89
#115Audio3.58
#219Fun3.53
#246Humor2.89
#428Theme3.80
#570Innovation3.02

Comments

dvdking says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:57pm

Really awesome. Attacks have nice feeling to them.
The only thing that feels wrong, is character movement speed. The character has running animation, but moves really slowly, so it look weird.
Graphics are simply awesome
Also sometimes there was a real lack of enemies, I had to wait for them to come and get me. But there was a lot of quite intense moments too.
Upgrade system is nice addition and keeps gameplay flowing.

onilink_ says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:03pm

Impressive assets for so little time!

Lukbebalduke says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:15pm

@Dvdking
Thanks! Yeah, you'r right! I may fix it.
@onilink
Thanks! I draw all of the in PS with a drawing table =)

danielsann7 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:23pm

bom trabalho =D ficou muito bom, a arte ta otima e ta bem fluido parabéns!

Robin says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:28pm

A very good looking game! I liked the music and the sound effects as well, very atmospheric. The upgrade system was a cool touch. Overall a solid game.

MicroMacro says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:32pm

I'm jealous. This game is amazing. Simple concept portrayed with amazing graphics and awesome controls. You did an exceptional job with this. Congrats!

Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:58pm

There no HP regen before final boss. But I still appreciate this game. It look simple on first look, but it has deep gameplay. Not super deep, but enough for LD game.

Lukbebalduke says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:14pm

@Yaroslav Kravtsov

Actually, there is! Every time you start a wave you regen all your life, and if you upgrade 'life regen' some monsters drops a life.

oxysoft says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:27pm

very slow and boring, but damn the graphics are a treat to the eye. Also, I was about to stop playing but then I got notified that I had leveled up, so an indication that something else is going to happen later would be a good idea

Lukbebalduke says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:33pm

@oxysoft

Maybe I slow too much the level timeline, I may increase the spawn speed.

Lukbebalduke says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:05pm

So, since a lot of people said that the gameplay was too slow, I did a new version!

Suui says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:12am

Really great! Nice visuals, the dash mechanic was damn great and it had a really nice feeling overall.

Amazing job!

Lancelot Gao says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:13am

Fun game and I love the art:)

Andarilhoz says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:08am

Love it
-The music
-The Dash
-The amazing sprites
Didnt like it soo much
-The gameplay, or, maybe i just suck at it, haha
-The level up its a little scary haha

Tasgardyen says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:12pm

Overall the game it's good, but to move the mouse it's alreay a button IMO, the game it's also too easy, and the skill activations are a bit sloppy, without any indicator to know when it's being resseted.

The graphics and animations area really cool! :D

Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:09pm

Lovely graphics! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/G4-JCtlxKuU

tantumgames says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:37pm

Great animations and graphic!
Well done!

jdoughty says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:58am

Awesome title! game feels nice overall aside from being a bit slow. I love the visuals, very tight! The upgrades is what made it re-playable and worth while to me.

Ghen says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:07am

this game made my game looks like a childplay lol
love the gothic atmosfer!

Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:45am

(Level up) Two... buttons.
... I see what you did there :D
A lot of waiting around for enemies, but all in all, good execution!

ImYellowFish says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:22am

Nice mood. Effective graphics and music. My favorite is the upgrade system, which makes big difference from how you choose the upgrade.

shadow64 says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:06am

Loved it. The art was kickass and the gameplay was fun. Definitely the kind of game that I want to come back to later. It reminded me a lot of a Suda51 game. I really liked the LEVEL UP menu and the change of music. Really the game had a level of presentation that is really nice. Well done and congrats on finishing!

Astro Cat says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:19am

Nice job. Very impressive

Riftpoint says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:20pm

Very cool game! Good job! Really liked the art style

logon13 says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:41pm

Very well polished game and great use of the two buttons theme. Lots of combinations done with just two little buttons I love it

Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:42am

Loved the art. Quite impressed that this was done by a single person. Combat is fluid and the leveling up/skill mechanic was a nice surprise. The death screams are the best part.

Galvesmash says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 8:16pm

Great game! Impressive visual style!
I really liked your game but the attack animations are a bit slow.
Great job fellow brazilian developer!

aare says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 11:39am

Nicelly don and really polished. But the issue for me is the slow pace. I managed to get to the fifth upgrade, but on many occasions were wondering "where actually are the enemies" :P Only after the fifth upgrade whitch took some time to get to the game started to pose any challenge at all ;)

JoseArias says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 3:01pm

I loved it!

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 3:20pm

Nice mood and visuals. The music reminded me of a song from Symphony of the Night, but can't recall which one exactly. Impressive amount of content for a Compo entry!

Aaranos says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 9:48pm

The game starts off a bit slow, but gets pretty fun once you get the dash attack. Maybe add some indicator to how close you are to a level up.

Smirnov48 says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 7:47am

Harder is more interesting. Scary level up ^) In other good graphics and nice idea.

cilerba says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 1:33am

I forgot there were only two controls a handful of times while playing. The game makes the two button control theme feel like it's not restricting at all. Enjoyable experience! :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]