Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Vine Racer

by mactinite - Compo Entry

Click Screens above for animated versions!

Viiiiiiiine Raacerrrrr

Use your water-rocket powered ship to race along a vine. Collect water droplets to keep going and fly near flower buds to make the bloom for extra points!

Controls
---------

Left/A - Go left
Right/D Go Right


-Swapped out WebGL version in favor of the webplayer, though the standalone players are still recommended.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness54%
#98Fun3.76
#124Overall3.76
#192Graphics3.72
#307Mood3.23
#441Innovation3.21
#461Theme3.76
#598Humor2.09

Comments

Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:31am

This is a fun game with great graphics!

The controls felt a little off, however, but that wasn't a big deal. The camera was, though. It seemed to close in and didn't give enough time to react with the large curve of the vine.

Great work!

mactinite says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:36am

@TerraCottaFrog Oh yeah! oops! I meant to change the distance and height of the camera before submitting... I wonder if that's allowed.

PanDoes says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:20am

Great graphics, fun gameplay, only thing I didn't like was that some times I couldn't see the obstacles and ended up dieing. I got a score of 1975!

Dimitri0xFF says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:21am

Beautiful, I really like it :)
I had a problem that when I click Start it clicks the Exit button. So I have to click above the Start button.

trueboolean says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:22am

I really like the music in this game!

Kapura says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:23am

This is one of the best, most polished games i've seen so far. Excellent work, taking the rotation concept and expanding it into something more interesting!

Fanttum says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:28am

This looks really neat. Any chance for a web or mac build?

vhaugan says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:28am

Really cool game.
I honestly don't think the camera being close is that much of a problem, it means you have to make sure to not end up on the wrong side of the vine, adding to the gameplay.
On the other hand I don't think the game gets difficult fast enough.

Mixer says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:37am

Gee this was really fun. The core gameplay was great. I think someone might have said this, but a changing camera position would be better, because sometimes it felt like there was no way you could see upcoming obstacles. Fantastic game, and great use of theme!

Crafting4U says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:03am

Fun gameplay, simple concept and decent graphics. Good job. :)

GAFBlizzard says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:56am

The WebGL build didn't work that well. The Unity web plugin works great in Firefox, so it would be nice to have that version available for better usability. Not scoring for now because of the download-only versions.

GAFBlizzard says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:57am

The graphics look nice though! Like Grow Home meets Wipeout. Nice audio too, though you don't have an audio voting category.

mactinite says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:38pm

@GAFBlizzard I've swapped out the WebGL Build in favor of a webplayer. :)

nonetheless says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:40pm

Very good mechanics. Only problem for me is sometimes it's really hard to spot obstacle and it gets kinda random. Solid entry nonetheless!

GAFBlizzard says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:27pm

@mactinite the web player works a million times better, thanks! I'll play and rate. :)

rjhelms says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:42pm

I enjoyed this. Good job!

Just as a heads up, the .pdb files in Unity 5 builds aren't needed - I don't know why it puts them there, but you could shave some size off the download by removing them. (Not that it's terribly big to begin with.)

Modoc73 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:35am

Great job. Really good game. Reminded me on another entry "Pete and the Beanstalk", but your 3D game is really cool. Fits the themes nicely. Well done.

tweedle says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:41am

I felt like is was on some kind of party ship headed to the club at the top of a beanstalk, nice work!

cynicalmonkey says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:30pm

really fun game and controls really smoothly

randomhuman says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:15pm

Fast past and addictive, I like it. I was going to praise the music especially, but I guess you didn't create it since audio is unrateable? Ah well, good choice anyway and a great game overall.

rnlf says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 2:55pm

Seems like someone played too much of a certain Mario Kart 8 track :-)

The game plays really smooth, nice physics. Feels right. It could have used some sound, but the rest is pretty cool!

GAFBlizzard says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 10:11am

Good music choice though I guess you didn't make it since there is no audio category? The graphics look nice. I got 1574!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]