Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Star Eater

by keyboardmonkey - Jam Entry

You are a Star Eater monster. Eat all the stars.

*THEME*

Two-button controls

*CONTROLS*

Keyboard: Left/Right
Mouse: Click the Left/Right side of the screen

**REQUIRES**

GNU / Linux - the 'love' package from your package manager (v0.9.1+)
Windows - Every thing's included in the download.

*TECH AND TOOLS*

- LÖVE (https://love2d.org)
- Aseprite
- GIMP

*NOTES*

- Only 3 levels included
- Monster artwork by myself
- Star art by Écrivain: http://opengameart.org/content/star
- Brick art by etqws3: http://opengameart.org/content/square-block-textures
- Sound effects via SFXR
- Built with LÖVE 0.9.1 but also runs under 0.9.2

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#293Humor(Jam)3.06
#390Fun(Jam)3.31
#552Theme(Jam)3.63
#748Overall(Jam)3.06
#785Graphics(Jam)2.88
#849Mood(Jam)2.69
#915Innovation(Jam)2.44
#1952Coolness32%

Comments

josefnpat says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:18am

Awesome job! Clean controls, really great level design, fun graphics! This is a solid entry, congrats!

parias001 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:37am

Very nice controls! It felt so good playing this game. Kudos!

Weeping Rupee says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:43am

I like the character design! Wish this was a little more challenging though.

MemoryLeek says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:40pm

Too easy for me, but felt solid and polished :)

Max Amaden says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:53am

Nice little game. Cool work!

monetai says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:40pm

fun, i loved the use of the eyes

Karai17 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:27pm

I won all the stars. :D

A got embedded in platforms from time to time, but otherwise everything worked great. Awesome work!

PotatoGrader says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:42am

I was wondering if anyone would make a game like this for LD34. I'm glad someone made it.
The overall feel was nice, the text in the end was funny, the monster was cute, the walking-on-the-ceiling part was unexpected and cool.

BlackBulletIV says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 12:03pm

Not much too it, but I found this pleasant, even amusing (got a chuckle out of the character walking on his eyes), to play. Well done.

Dec 22, 2015 @ 1:03am

Solid entry with good controls, I love the suction cup eyes that allow you to "hang on to" the ceiling :D

Great job, you should polish it up and release for Android / IOS.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]