Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Growbot

by Sink - Compo Entry

robot would like to leave please
......i
...[:.:]
>[__]<
....| |
help robot to leave the room robot needs your help

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness56%
#51Mood3.90
#56Humor3.76
#57Fun3.88
#67Overall3.93
#91Graphics4.07
#169Audio3.40
#271Innovation3.48
#338Theme3.90

Comments

Prince says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 8:44am

I don't...wait...what...OHHHH 11/10

Greg Klein says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 12:09pm

Did you rely on Gamemaker code documentation to learn advanced stuff? Seems like all the tutorials and help out there drop off at a certain point, and the skilled coders like jw and cactus don't make tutorials unfortunately.

ryguydavis says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 11:23pm

Love the simplicity and re-activity of the elements. This is how modern adventure games should feel. Thanks for the lack of pixel hunting.

fishtrek says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:26am

should've made "Growtel" instead
but this is rly good anyway so i'll let u off

rabbit says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:57am

SINK DOES IT AGAIN

napoleon says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:12pm

I really enjoyed this, Sink. This made me feel happy.

duon44 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:34pm

lol that ending

Gabe_Fern says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:53am

You've kicked the asses!

huminaboz says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:55am

Fun little story, I could go for miles.

ehgoodenough says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:02am

I like the animations for the robot. And what a way to end! :p

TomBoogaart says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:58pm

lol cool

Ghen says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:14am

this awesome!, love almost every aspect of the game
great work!

Usanio says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:15am

Nice) Waiting for the next chapter)

Red_Fan games says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:02pm

Wow! That visual style was popping! Really bold and simple.

bakudas says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:21pm

just WOW

rkhadder says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:24pm

One of my favorite games so far

Rob_Haines says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:33pm

Very cute, & the puzzles were fairly satisfying. Struggled a little getting the correct cursor placement to use the soil, but otherwise very smooth.

berkano says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:28pm

Beautiful. Really appreciate the retro feel (and difficulty) :-)

ragnta says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:38pm

Amazing :) But the oil does not always work

Ben Allen says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 7:28pm

Can't play the game because this is happening:
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/63088159/Screenshot%202015-12-18%2014.24.40.png

Is there a full screen button? In general it's better to not make games have a borderless window because it doesn't add anything beneficial and causes weird problems like this.

domo_demo says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 1:09pm

YEAH :) too short but i'm in love with this game, i want more !

cilerba says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 5:23pm

Loved it, Sink.

XenosNS says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 7:23pm

So cute. Too a bit to figure out the controls but eventually got it. Liked the window effect at the end.

Aurel Bílý says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 12:27pm

Very nicely polished. But I knew from the start that this game will be very short :(

Mach60KAS says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 9:11pm

Cutesy and charming - reminds me more of ZX Spectrum era games than any point-and-click I've ever seen! Short and sweet, and actually quite polished despite the initial appearance. Great work!

Zanzlanz says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 10:48pm

Well done! I love the animations and the puzzle was fun.

It seemed like it was more about figuring out how the game wanted me to accomplish the tasks, rather than figuring out how everything should interact to proceed. That's okay, but not as rewarding as the other way around.

Either way, it's adorable and has a great level of polish for a game of this style. Love it! :D

01010111 says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 10:32pm

Ah! This one was really great! I was confused at first, but once it all came together I fell in love with it. I do wish there was so much more, but it was a great little adventure! On a side note, I made a little minigame for Mungo that is super similar to your pipe puzzle! :D I hope you make more like this!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]