Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Owl Boy's Stellar Garden

by Oxeren - Compo Entry

Theme: Growing

Help Owl Boy to grow his garden and his world.

Instructions:

WASD - movement
E - interact
Q - upgrade plant
Space - plant a seed

Break rocks to find seeds. Hold Space in front of an empty space to plant a seed. Plants need watering. To get water build a well on a pond. Plants produce pollen. When you collect pollen the world grows. Use shrines for upgrades. Hold 'Q' in front of a plant to upgrade it.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness60%
#104Graphics4.03
#140Audio3.49
#168Mood3.49
#244Overall3.55
#267Theme3.98
#446Fun3.20
#480Humor2.36
#483Innovation3.15

Comments

gene-z says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:32am

Vera Nice game, congratularíamos

donvermo says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:32am

Very nice spin on the theme, both the plants and his world gradually grow larger. It becomes slightly frustrating having to rebuild the wells all the time but other than that it's pretty entertaining.

vegapomme27 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:32am

The basic idea looks great and the 3d models are nice, but it was very very laggy on my side :(

Good job anyway.

fakefrogsonly says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:34am

Loved the art style of this one! Was a bit unclear what to do, but would love to see this fleshed out and explored more.

George says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:36am

Like the concept - and owl! The mood/theme of ethereal space came off pretty well, made me not question why an owl was gardening..! Sadly my well bugged out so I couldn't get any more water :(

togo says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:42am

the game is a lot faster than what i expected from a gardening game.
the atmosphere is great, but you get a little too caught up on the plants to appreciate it.

BUNN1E5 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:46am

Really cool and looked nice! Cool how the world grows! The music is kind of weird when it just cuts off

cynicalmonkey says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:50am

I liked that the gamespace grew with your progression and i thought the owl was cute, the music fits well with the game although there is a distracting pause in the loop.

it kind of straddles the line between garden sim and management game and the feedback I would give if you were going to develop it further is to pick a lane with that. For a garden sim you the speed at which the plant can die and how often the well breaks feel at odds with the relaxing nature of those games. For a management game it needs that urgency of the "whats the next thing" something that points you to what you are upgrading to, why you want it and what that will let you progress to.

Taffaz says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:06pm

Good game, I found I had loads of pollen and not enough seeds though, not sure if I did something wrong or there was some way of making sure you got seeds.

Enjoyed playing it, good work.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:27am

Cool concept of adding more to the world! However, having to rebuild wells was frustrating.

dustyroom says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:56am

Couldn't find out where to get more pollen when broke the stone. Also, my plants die too fast. Nice feel and look of the game.

redmassacre says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:14pm

nice game) or perhaps life simulation)
i didn't realize about stones... but then...

SirSoltex says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:15am

looks really nice, i like games that have 3d models and pixel art

KaiseanGames says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:46am

One of the best I've played this LD. Well done.

karlipoppins says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:49am

This was such an impressive game for a compo!! Lovd the graphics, amazing music, quite challenging as soon as you have multipl flowers. Great job!!

VladRusu says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:23pm

Awww you have an owl <3 !!! (The girl in our team couldn't help it)

Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:19pm

Really nice game, I liked the art style and character design.

liquidmedia says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:33pm

Cool game took some time to get it running but once loaded runs ok

vicious_br says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:54am

Good entry to the theme. I love the music and the own. I would like to take this opportunity to ask a favor. You already rated my game, but I was not allowed "innovation rating." Please could you assess this item now? Take the opportunity to play with some corrections. Very thanks:http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-34/?action=preview&uid=36629

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]