Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Hanami - Push-Up Farming

by Beavl - Jam Entry

HANAMI (PUSH-UP FARMING) IS A GAME ABOUT MAKING PUSH-UPS TO GROW BEAUTIFUL FLOWERS.

***

CONTROLS:

LEFT SHIFT and RIGHT SHIFT.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#4Humor(Jam)4.53
#100Theme(Jam)4.19
#130Audio(Jam)3.79
#186Graphics(Jam)4.06
#223Overall(Jam)3.64
#242Mood(Jam)3.58
#251Innovation(Jam)3.51
#304Fun(Jam)3.43
#1562Coolness45%

Comments

laFunk says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:57pm

LOL! It's impossible not to laugh :) Good work here!

LeoM says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:02pm

OMG ! Plants are growing when you **** the ground ! ><

floppya says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:03pm

Welp this is incredible. Great job.

anael says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:03pm

hahaha

Piotrek says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:07pm

Little too hard for me, but graphics and sounds are awesome.
btw: gif link doesn't work.

gv1351 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:08pm

Good one

Tyler says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:09pm

I found it hilarious, but the speed of the gameplay and the location of the bars makes it so I can't even really watch the game in the middle. Great art, audio and humor, but the gameplay needs some tweaking. (twerking?)

gillenew says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:01pm

lol, this plant will substantially scent

ViKing Games says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:09am

Really funny, loved the graphics and sound. I wish the bars were lower on the screen so I could see them do their push-ups.

As a side note, I think this game would be even better if the push-ups were to the beat, like a rhythm game.

herniewise says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:18am

Hahaha I love it!

Gamepopper says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:23pm

The concept is hilarious, and the difficulty is frustrating yet simple. Wish it wasn't so fast near the start. Some nice music as well.

JohnWatmuff says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:43am

lol. very funny, very *FUN*... fantastic game. I wish more people would focus on gameplay - this is a good one.

adsilcott says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:45am

There should really be a "WTF" category to vote for... lol!

eerongal says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:46am

I....don't know what to say about this. That is all.

pvwradtke says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:48am

Just one adjective for this game: weird. But weird in a good way, I had a really good laugh. And the graphics, oh, the graphics, they're on a league of their own.

MikeTsunami says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:48am

Definitely the funniest game on here!

flwns says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:29am

I was so focused on the bar, I couldn't appreciate my beautiful flower.

ObsessiveNerd says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:53am

This was hilarious! Excellent game!

Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:49am

Awesome! Final score was 15 (after 4-5 tries). Great art, audio and humor.

FrederickK says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:06am

What am I doing with my life...
5 on humor
also, are you SURE that it is counting correctly? I can swear that the ball was correctly inside the bar but still counted wrong many times :(

Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:41am

Truly captivating. A haunting work of art.

MrMordem says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:42am

well that was... original for sure, awesome for the pure WTF factor alone, other than that great graphics, great combination of both themes, a bit hard to play though

well done ^^

Si1ver says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:44am

I'm not going to do any push-ups as morning exercises any more.
I'm fearing frowers will start growing from my butt =/

ncannasse says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:18pm

WTF :) Nice, but would have been excellent with a more advanced gameplay. Also, it was impossible for me to play alone, two players are required :)

Valandre says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:19pm

Sooooo fun! what the hell have you smoke/eat! I'm in love

DrFallos says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:31pm

Crazy idea and fun gameplay! You know what i need! good game!

local minimum says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:49pm

It was really hard to get anywhere playing solo. Graphics is very well made and though it is an exercise game (I generally don't enjoy such), the circumstances here are very forgiving. It would have been nice if the shift keys also got the game started, so one could be prepared and ready.

Beavl says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:08am

@FrederickK Yeah, it's counting correctly :) Game counts "1" for each fully grown flower.

@GeorgeBroussard: wow, man. Fans of your work right here.

Thank you all for playing and rating the game. We are going to play yours.

candlesan says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:24am

Quite challenging!!!

zatch says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:26am

Amazing. Just wish it was easier to see and appreciate the art while focusing so intently on the bars.

Didi says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:30am

Hahahahahaha! 10/10

SSJMetroid says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:31am

What really sucks about this is that when I am actually playing the game, my attention is split so hard I don't get to stare at the amazing graphics lol... Great job though.

PeachTreeOath says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:58am

Funny game, wish I could appreciate the gfx more though since I'm fixated on the bars.

radmars says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:08am

Absolutely incredible. I think my only complaint is that I can't look at the pretty flowers while playing! (side note, I think the controls are a bit wonky, some keyboards may not pick up simultaneous left+right shift very well)

Didi says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:25am

This is funny but gameplay is hard! can't play it alone XD

SeaDads says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:38am

Bahahahaha!

TRAB says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:13am

Excellent, unique concept and incredible polish. Difficult to grasp initially without any in-game explanation. Once understood, however, the game becomes a silky smooth ride down nude push-up contest flower farming lane.

Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:53am

I just... I. What did I... this... wuh?
I love this. I. Love. This.

Tuism says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:08am

Everything is pretty cool, but I have no idea what I'm doing and I can't focus on two bars at once. Too hard for me :/ Is it supposed to be a two-player game???

Rocketship says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:19am

It's quite.. magnificent. I think the pressing felt slightly delayed or laggy but who cares. It's magnificent.

dustyroom says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:52am

Since your both hands are on keyboard, it would be nice to make a restart with Shift button. Amazing!

felixreeve says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:29pm

Made me laugh, and it's a good level of difficulty!

metalchouchen says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:39pm

The gameplay is a bit too simple but the game is really fun :) Nice arts also! Congrats!

KaiseanGames says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:03pm

I would have it run a little slower at first, then slowly speed up. This is difficult for me, even though I am a piano player. :p

spotco says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 11:03am

love it, wish I could take my focus off the bars to see what they're doing

Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:11pm

Pretty difficult to pay attention to both things at once but interesting concept. Would be super easy with two people though. xD

Gyfis says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 4:38pm

Very funny, but it's quite easy to just tap in the rhythm and go with it. Overall, well done. 24 was my top score before I decided that it was enough.

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 5:25pm

By having to focus intensely on the meters I missed what was happening in the main screen… but I can see from this page that what was happening was a good thing. Yes.

klianc09 says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 7:38pm

I sometimes felt like it wasn't registering my button presses... or maybe I'm just bad.
The music and graphics are great, and the game is simply... WTF.

randomhuman says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 9:38pm

So hard. But so ridiculous that I can't help but like it :) The art and audio really work well together as well.

Xanjos says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 4:54pm

Weird but fun entry. Definitely easier with a friend. My only gripe is the use of the shift keys for the controls (because nobody like accidental Sticky Keys).

Tapehead says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 8:16pm

hard as hell, ridiculous and hilarious! :D

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]