Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Wesh Grow

by SamH - Compo Entry

A cave flyer, inspired by Thrust and Gravity force, where you need to pick up spaceship parts. The collected parts affect the weight, thrust power, collisions and overall physics.

This entry competes in both the “Two-button controls” and “Growing” categories, because why the hell not!

Keys:
- Q/W/A for left thruster
- P/O/L for right thruster
- Escape to restart level

The game is written in C++. It compiles and runs on Windows, Linux, and WebGL (using emscripten).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness82%
#91Fun3.79
#214Overall3.60
#222Audio3.21
#271Mood3.29
#293Humor2.78
#312Graphics3.42
#323Innovation3.40
#355Theme3.88

Comments

NuSan says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:13am

Great game, I love the rocket stacking and particle effect. The pink color choice is ... risky. A reset button would have been nice on one particular level.

Boberro says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:25am

That's wicked!
+1 for reset button, but I still love it.

SamH says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:51pm

“Escape” resets the level; doesn’t it work for you guys?

Ghen says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:53pm

sick graphic dude!, love the gameplay, but its really hard tho :))
i can't really finish the whole game because of the camera share visual effect make me dizzy

Ghen says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:53pm

sick graphic dude!, love the gameplay, but its really hard tho :))
i can't really finish the whole game because of the camera shake visual effect make me dizzy

Tutti Ankka says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:59pm

At first it was hard to control the ship, but after a while I learned it and it was fun! Art is great, I love the particle effect and the art! Soundtrack is amazing too and the idea suits both themes well! Amazing!

DustyStylus says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:52pm

Watched the Youtube video, this looks ace and I want to play! Alas, my ISP (VM, I'm on 3G) won't allow zoy.org ... :(

SamH says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:34am

@DustyStylus I’m sorry about that. I changed the WebGL link to an itch.io URL, if that can help!

Benlitz says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:34am

You were kind enough not to implement death, thanks! :) Quite difficult, especially because the left key makes you rotate in the opposite direction, but quite fun to play!

LittleThor says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:32pm

DAT title!
And those controls ... haha fun and well made!

GuillaumeGwi says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:45am

Nice game, a little hard to control at first but once you master it, it's pretty easy :D

mattrified says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:00am

Fun game! That camera shake, lol! The music was nice and the mechanics were challenging but enjoyable once you got the hang of it.

tantumgames says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:47am

Cool camera effect. Hard but fun.

shadow64 says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:13am

Thanks for taking the time to review and comment on GET IT OUT!!! Hopefully I'll have time to take it further eventually. There were good levels here, but I felt like the controls were pretty difficult, even though I understood that they were the thrusters. Having right turn you left and vice versa definitely took some getting used to. That said it was still a cool control style and the music was fun. :) Thanks for sharing and congrats on finishing!

mockthebear says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:19pm

Cool, you used emscripten too!
I loved everything but the screne shake. I think its just too much. But everything else its awesome!!!

Raphi says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:41am

Really nice game, good job ;)

kepons says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:49am

Very enjoyable. I got stuck into a wall at one point but it didn't really matter. Interesting yet great visuals.

Blake_Lead says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 1:29pm

Super fun game ! I'm a fan. Congrats.

ponk says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 9:54pm

Cool game ! Nice pixels. I like dat screen shake
Thanks for jamming :) ...!!

Starspell says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 2:37am

I enjoyed the game a lot. The music made me really have some fun with it and get into the silly mood. I got to a level however where you need to slip through a crack between the pink and normal tiles and then pick up a power up. Once you get that power up you then can't get back because you are too large which is frustrating. Also whilst your movement speed / force increases as you add parts, and you are adding mass, you never seem to fall as a realistic rate.

SamH says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 10:26am

@Starspell that was a puzzle; you can press Escape to restart the level and try to solve it a different way.

miwuc says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 4:24pm

Nice entry with potential. Controls are very hard at first, but you get slightly better at it with practice. It would be nice if power ups had more effect on the ship. As is, I didn't feel like they changed much apart from appearance/size, which only really matters in the penultimate level.
And the title is lol.

srakowski says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 4:50pm

Very good game! One of my favorites this Ludum Dare. Teaching yourself how to fly the ship was frustratingly fun and rewarding. Great particle/screen shake effects, and audio to match. The L/A keys didn't work, but I made by with P/O and Q/W :-). Very well done!

Dec 25, 2015 @ 12:13am

The controls were delightful. Flying the ship into walls collecting power ups was awesome. The few levels that begin to feature puzzles were great and I hope to see more!

kaz

freaknarf says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 12:28am

Cool use of theme , the ship has pleasant and original controls, and game has a nice vibe and concept. Some difficulty is missing I think, maybe just adding time or damages could make it more intense...good job!

Xanjos says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 2:12am

The controls take some time to master but this is a really well done entry with great usage of both themes.

matiz982 says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 2:27pm

Good job. I have fun while playing this game. I love this music and i will play it again!

Loneshark says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 7:04pm

Reminds me of when I first learned to drive stick

Funny little game. Add more levels and a fail condition (perhaps timer or loss of expansions) and I can see this as a money game (especially if you can make it mobile-friendly).

nassi says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 7:17pm

Cool aesthetic! The controls took quite a lot of getting used to as they didn't behave quite how I expected them to behave. Would've been cool if there were more varying map like the one where you had to collect the pieces in certain order.

Dayko says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 7:18pm

Very cool entry ! The gamefeel is great it's really pleasant being in "control" of this clunky armored rocket, Congrats !

g12345 says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 12:32am

One of the better games I've played this LD. Then again I haven't played thrust/gravity force for a long time now.

The first few levels were probably the hardest for me, and the final one.

Yeah, it's a bit short and easy but theres lots of room to enhance it.

It's a very challenging control method though and I still prefer the thrust controls.

You make me realise I should make a thrust clone too. Thanks! :)

Kerdelos says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 10:45pm

I like the ways pick ups influence the thrust and weight but the gravity does not feel real. The graphics are cute but a bit flashy. And I would bet from the title that you're french ;D

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]