Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Bicycle Simulator 1984

by Eigen - Compo Entry

Welcome to the exciting world of cycling!

The objective of the game is simple - finish the race before the time runs out. You can race in two modes. Take part in a sprint for a shorter contest or give your stamina a go in an endurance race.

To gain speed, consecutively and repeatedly tap the 'R' and 'L' keys or the right and left cursor keys. The faster you tap, the quicker you pedal.

---

The game is written in Lua using my own text-game engine (https://github.com/eigenl/tge)

---

In the future I would like to add more gameplay elements, things like drinking stops and have the environments affect the cyclist. Two-player mode is also something I'm considering.

---

POST COMPO:

Added a new version for Windows. This adds more sounds and a small boot-up sequence.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#71Graphics4.13
#545Fun3.07
#650Theme3.53
#712Innovation2.73
#2073Coolness26%

Comments

Dec 13, 2015 @ 2:09pm

Love this game, love the art so much.

thecord says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:37am

Nice retro style :-)

Skaz says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:44pm

Your game HURTS ME. It's mean! :p

My god my hands hurt. Track and field, I hate you.

Awesome game! The wallpaper change was a MUST HAVE feature. It make me younger, to the point my age becomes negative.

Skaz says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:49pm

19 sec on hard. I'll go put my hands in cold water.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:03pm

Well it's certainly a 5 star mood rating for this one.

VDZ says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:22pm

I'm not really sure what to say here. Everything is very well-made and polished...but it just isn't fun. It's the most basic form of 'push button to win game' with nothing at all to spice it up except for a whole lot of style. The only challenge is how fast I can push buttons, and that got tedious even back in the C64 era when it was combined with timing challenges (long jump games and the like).

The only real criticism I can offer is that the audio seems a bit lacking. There's only a single piece of music, which gets rather repetitive, but more importantly there's no audio feedback in the gameplay. I can't hear myself cycle, I can't hear how fast I'm going, I can't hear the start sign, and I can't hear myself cross the finish line. It would add a lot to the experience if you heard sounds produced by in-game events.

Eigen says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:29pm

Thanks, VDZ, appreciate your feedback.

I was on the fence about including sounds at all. I couldn't record any actual bike sounds and they wouldn't have fitted with the retro aesthetic anyway. And I didn't think BFXR or other programs would've produced the right sounds. If this was an actual 1984 game, not even music would be available but it felt too barren without it.

For a post-compo version I might add sounds, but not the kind you'd expect. I would try and find some recordings of old computer floppy drives, fans and keyboard clicks and include these rather than the sounds a bike or the rider makes. It's more about simulating that experience - using an old computer that is - rather than playing the game. The game is stupid, I know.

rjhelms says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:03pm

Haha, we had somewhat similar aesthetic approaches, it seems.

I was really tempted to do something similar with a photograph of an old TV, but I don't have one quite old enough to pull it off.

Rodaja says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:58pm

Nice retro feel! Reminds me of an actual cycling game I had in the '90s. I like the wallpaper option, but the sound is really lacking. Shame it's only a sprint, but you said you are working in more gameplay elements, so keep it up! Good job!

Anachron says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:56am

Love bikes and love the 80s so excellent job!

aare says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:44pm

Thank your for this game, that made me feel like I could ride a bike even though I have it broken for almost two years now :P

Jokes aside, I really liked how much of the 80's the game captured. Splendid presentation and attention to details :)

BroCade says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:54pm

Honestly i feel your link to the theme is minimal... but your presentation is flawless! Just Gorgeous!

crucknuk says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:19pm

Good idea, good execution. I liked it! Good job!

danbolt says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 6:37am

Source code?

I used to love playing ZZT when I was younger, so being able to enjoy something like this is a real treat! I like the button-mashing aspect of it too.

Your engine is neat as well. I gave it a star on GitHub. ;)

Diel Mormac says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 11:13pm

I'm sweating after playing your game!

Congratulations

VDZ says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 7:35am

How did this not get a Mood score? What's wrong with people?

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]